We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived Famished, Left Satiated”
Review of The Horse Radish

The Horse Radish
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Carlton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Offering North West wines, artisan cheeses, cured meats, olives, small bites, sandwiches, chocolates, bread and more...for here or to go. Live Music on Friday and Saturday night!
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Arrived Famished, Left Satiated”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

In Carlton on a wine tasting trip with friends, the Horse Radish was on my list for picnic or lunch. We were famished when we arrived. Fortunately didn't need a reservation, and were seated right away. We ordered a large cheese and charcuterie platter right way, and a bottle of wine (great wine list). Hard to make choices, so many great cheeses and meats. The house roast beef on foccacia w/pickled onions was super tasty. The other couple we were with had the pastrami and gave it a thumb's up. Small, family-friendly and family-run, good service, tasty food--what else can you ask for?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    62
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Try The Horse Radish!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were driving from Portland, Oregon to Cannon Beach in a round about way and had been told that we should stop in Carlton, Oregon and go to The Horse Radish restaurant for lunch. This is a newish looking restaurant with a wine tasting bar and a bakery / deli take out selection counter in the front.

We chose to do a sampling of Marshall Fields wines plus order a ham & swiss sandwich with fig sauce. We had been warned that the sandwiches are huge so we ordered just one sandwich to share. The wine samples were not nearly as good as the sandwich. The sandwich prompted us to purchase a jar of their fig sauce when we were leaving. It was excellent! The wine samples just didn't fit our taste although the presentation was done with three large wine glasses with a large sample in each glass.

Carlton is a small town and The Horse Radish was the jewel in the town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We don't need no stinking gluten ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is our third trip here, the first for lunch. We had the Pastrami on Gluten-free Rye bread.

I've eaten in some of the best deli's in the US and this little shop delivered on this New York style sandwich. Also had my favorite Oregon beer, Terminal Gravity's ESG!

This such a cute place serving some of Oregon's best craft vineyard wines.

You'll enjoy the food and atmosphere day or evening; especially as they feature local musical talent.

Helpful?
Thank cybercme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fennville, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Small Town”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just exploring some small towns in Oregon, a friend and I stumbled upon The Horse Radish in Carlton. We checked out the menu posted in the window and were impressed with what we saw. What a great experience! The staff was friendly and accommodating. I ordered the Turkey on hot foccacia with avocado, chipotle mayo and local chevrehat and was very pleased. It was more than I could eat in one sitting for $9.00. Well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rootentooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Place to eat in Carlton, OR”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great lunch even though we arrived 40 minutes before they were going to close. We were given great service. The staff was lovely. The food - starters and sandwiches - we all of the best ingredients with interesting. YOu can eat in or they will gladly put a picnic together for you to take along. Atmosphere is great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse Radish also viewed

 

Been to The Horse Radish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing