We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, comfortable and delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard
Ranked #5 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Chatham, Nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were 6 college friends, enjoying a mini-reunion in Oregon's wine country. I picked Lobenhaus B & B off the internet because the reviews were good, the price was mid-range, and the location was superb for visiting vineyards. I picked a winner! We were first struck by the absolute cleanliness of the place. It is well kept; nothing was shabby or needed repair. Each guestroom has its own bathroom - all are large and tastefully and comfortably furnished. There are two large sitting rooms and a huge dining space. We actually spent more time outside wandering the grounds. There are beautiful gardens, vineyards, and wild spaces to enjoy. Shari pointed us toward the blackberry vines and we picked some beautiful berries to add to our breakfasts. Little did we know that our breakfast was going to be so delicious and so plentiful that even fresh berries couldn't surpass it. After serving our breakfast, Joe and Shari joined us in the dining room for coffee and conversation. They were a wealth of information on the area and Joe was very generous in sharing his time and knowledge of viticulture with our friends who had just planted their own vines. We stayed three nights and our great disappointment was that we would have to leave so early the third morning to make our flight that we would miss breakfast. When Shari learned this, she provided us with breakfast to go (freshly baked muffins, fruit, and yogurt) and Joe got up before the crack of dawn to brew us coffee. I would be remiss not to mention Grandma's cookies: every afternoon we would come home to wonderful, just baked cookies that Shari's mother had made. Even though we were often rushing out the door again to go to dinner, we would stop and gobble up the cookies. They were not to be missed! All in all, Lobenhaus gave us everything that epitomizes a great B & B - a businesslike reservation and payment system, a good website, impeccably clean rooms that were large, attractive, quiet, and comfortable, delicious and creative breakfasts, and warm and gracious hosts who were glad to share as much or as little time with you as you liked. A wonderful balance of being warm but not intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved our stay at Lobenhaus. The breakfasts every morning were amazing, the rooms were spotless and the location was fantastic for wine touring. It's right down the road from Ghost Hill Cellars, so close enough to walk home after a tasting! We enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the evenings. Joe and Shari were great hosts and we'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoezee_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My mother and I recently visited the Lobenhaus and had the most wonderful visit. The innkeepers were delightful and extremely helpful with places to eat, wineries to visit. The room was lovely --quiet, spacious and clean. And breakfast was completely delicious! We would definitely like to return--but for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a charming B&B. Shari & Joe run a spacious place with lots of room to roam inside and out. Lovely large balcony overlooking hilly property with vines and ponds. Many walking paths to relax before and after a hard day's work visiting wineries. Wild blackberries all over! Breakfast is absolutely deliciously prepared. Recommendations for excellent restaurants that I never would have found otherwise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Birch room but I'm not sure there's a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lobenhaus B & B was so relaxing, and had the most comfortable bed! We were late arriving, due to plane troubles, and they were so accomodating. . . the breakfasts were wonderful, and they really know the area. When we needed suggestions for dinner and winerys to visit, they really helped, and their suggestions were great!. Relaxing on the porch in the evening, with all the trees and land was amazing! Defnintely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stojy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here two nights over the fourth of July holiday. What an entrancing place! Large rooms, plenty of space, Quiet,and everything works as it should. Very close and convenient to vineyards and restaurants. The beds are wonderful. On 28 acres of Gods country, our room ( the Pine room ) had vistas of vineyards and trees and a stream. After dinner our friends would join us for wine out on the balcony overlooking the property. The breakfasts were beautiful and extremely tasty( although not low cal ! ) . Joe and Shari were just as nice as they could be and very knowledgeable about local sites and the science of viticulture. The feeling of peacefulness at this B and B cannot be overstated. My wife and I are already planning a return...

Room Tip: Second story rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webegone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I am a hotel fan - usually the chain type so I can amass points and benefit from my status level perks.
However, friends had booked me a room at the Lobenhaus so we could fully enjoy our wine tasting without having to return to Portland.
I was overwhelmingly surprised by how nice, clean, and spacious the bedroom and bathroom are, with very nice personal touches here and there (like the teddy bear on the bed). The owners are personable and funny (she commented, "yes, we actually clean the sheets between visitors!" with a twinkle in her eye, amused by my level of surprise.
And it was quiet. One of my many complaints about B&Bs is that I usually hear everyone coming in for the night and in their rooms. Heard nothing this night!
An excellent B&B experience for this "road warrior" traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.7 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
10.3 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 1 in McMinnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard

Property: Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard
Address: 6975 NE Abbey Road, Carlton, OR 97111
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect home base for visiting Oregon's Willamette Valley wine country. Tri-level lodge surrounded by woods, creek, & vineyards. Six well-appointed rooms with upgraded amenities. Hearty full Oregon Bounty breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing