We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable home, wonderful hostess, great breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable home, wonderful hostess, great breakfast”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Owner Heidi took great care of us. The bedrooms were clean and spacious and the breakfast was full of wonderful local foods prepared to perfection. Jake the Brittany Spaniel kept good guard and was happy to have all the attention we heaped on him.

If you are looking for a nice, affordable spot for your wine tasting get-away, look no further!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjohnson726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I stayed at the Carlton Inn while exploring the surrounding area and wineries. Heidi was very pleasant from the time I made the reservation until I checked out. The home has a lot of character and was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and more food than I have eaten in a long time. The room was spacious and the bathroom even had a spa tub. Heidi's suggestions for dinner and which wineries to visit were very helpful and I enjoyed all of her suggestions. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Even though the weather was dreary, the comfort and beautifully decorated rooms kept us smiling. I really like the artwork and attention to detail, you don't have to worry about pink or lace like you would at some other B & Bs. We stayed in the main floor bedroom and slept peacefully. Heidi serves an amazing homemade breakfast, and always shares where the local produce comes from (including her garden in the summertime).
She is a wonderful hostess and made us feel right at home offering us wine the evening we arrived and gave great suggestions for eating / wine tasting. Cuvee has some of the best French food I've tasted outside of France and The Horseradish was great for music and small plate items. Both restaurants are only about a 4 block walk from the inn. This is the place to stay when you visit wine country.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riki0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Awesome place to stay! You can walk to several tasting rooms and delicious restaurants from The Carlton Inn. The room we stayed in was super clean, cozy and comfy. Heidi, our inn keeper, was the hostess with the mostest and breakfast was delicious. Service and setting were just what my friend and I were looking for. We were able to taste wine, enjoy great food and soak up the charm of Carlton all within walking distance of the Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Yamhill County is in the heart of Oregon wine country; the tiny town of Carlton is in the heart of Yamhill County; and The Carlton Inn is in the heart of the town. You can easily walk to many tasting rooms. Heidi Yates, the B&B owner, made our experience the best ever!

Her 1920 home has four guest bedrooms, all decorated differently, all cozy and comfortable. Heidi welcomed us even before we arrived, offering lots of advice when we called for reservations - and honoring our two-year-old gift certificates without hesitation! We shared a glass of wine and conversation with Heidi in the spacious and comfortable living room before heading out to dinner, learning a bit of her amazing life story. She is a delight, as is her amazing fly-hunting dog, Jake.

Breakfast was delicious - made from local produce, local eggs, local blueberries for the scones - even homemade granola and homemade yogurt. There was lively conversation with other guests at the common table. Our experience at The Carlton Inn was everything one could hope for from a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLLPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Six of us spent Saturday, visiting various wineries around Carlton in the Willamette Valley Limousine, including tours at Lemelson's, Raptor Ridge, and Sotar's. The day was fun and informative. Dinner was at the Cuvee Restaurant in downtown Carlton. It is French, relaxed, and has a wonderful menu. We drank fabulous Belle Pente wines with our meal. The night ended with our stay at the Carlton Inn Bed and Breakfast. It is comfortable, cozy, and Heidi, our innkeeper, made us all feel very special. She fixed us an amazing breakfast on Sunday with fresh fruit, scones, and lots of other homemade and local items. We all hated to leave.

Our entire trip was donated to the McMinnville Education Foundation for the auction. We were lucky enough to purchase it. How great to have all these generous people in our community.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling7777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We spent a weekend at the Carlton Inn in April, 2010. The rooms were clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. Heidi was the perfect hostess with winery and restaurant recommendations which were right on. Heidi's breakfast was terrific with freshly baked scones, fresh fruit and a great fritata. The Inn is just a couple of blocks from downtown Carlton and numerous wineries, tasting rooms & restaurants. From Carlton, it is only a 10 minute drive to McMinnville, with a beautiful downtown and even more great restaurants and wineries. Two thumbs up! We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazfriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.8 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
308 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 1 in McMinnville
116 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 648 W Main St, Carlton, OR 97111-9116
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you arrive as a guest... Depart as a friend. Built in 1915, The Carlton Inn B&B is located within the charming community of Carlton, known as Oregon's most walkable wine district, "The Wine Capital of Oregon." A short walk and you will discover nearly two dozen tasting rooms and wineries as well as unique shops and wonderful restaurants. Within our B&B find four comfortable guestrooms, each with a private bathroom, equipped with blow dryer, fluffy towels, bath and body products; and two king rooms, and two queen-sized beds, each encased in soft microfiber sheets, and a warm, fluffy comforter; a living room with fireplace and TV area, and a shaded back porch overlooking the garden. You will dine on a multi-course breakfast prepared from scratch, using local products and produce when possible, some coming from the Inn's own garden and chickens. The Inn is considered a wine country destination, for this reason, no children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing