We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night of sleep on my Oregon vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Thank you Karen for hosting us for the night! We had a room upstairs, the one with the extra bed. While looking for a b&b, I found other places where the daybed looked less than comfy. Not here! My bed was cozy, with a great mattress, good-smelling sheets, and a goose-down comforter. Karen gave us some wine tasting advice, as well as some free tasting cards to wineries we would have otherwise skipped but enjoyed visiting thanks to her. The breakfast was delish! She let us pack up what we couldn't finish :) Her chickens are very cute! Carlton is a tiny little town but there are a few wineries there as well is a wonderful bakery. It's a close drive to everywhere we wanted to go, and a little away from all the traffic.
My only caveat - it was a bit chilly in the house (even though Karen says she put new insulation where there was none), but this was not a problem at night because of the warm goose down comforter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lady_winter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Thanks to helpful Tripadvisor, we elected to stay at this charming well maintained inn in Carlton. Our "garden room" on the first floor was quiet, immaculate and comfortable. The new inn owner, Karen, is a truly gracious hostess. The Inn's location is easy walking distance to tiny downtown Carlton and its tasting rooms and tempting restaurant options. Another good find--thanks to fellow tripadvisor recommenders!

Room Tip: only saw our room (garden) which is on main floor and on the back of the house. Nice outlook and lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelpdx495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Lovely inn with a new innkeeper as of summer 2011.
Cozy rooms, each with private bath (note: one of the upstairs room's baths is *not* attached but no one else uses it...).
Wonderful craftsman touches - love the built-ins lining the dining room!
Tasty breakfasts made with love. Welcoming common rooms. Walk to several restaurants & winery tasting rooms.
Really nice fluffy white towels :) And thoughtful toiletries (this from a super-picky-about-skincare person).
Wifi and if you ask nicely you can use the wireless printer.
Innkeeper very personable, just the right mix of helpful & not too intrusive. Ask for local tips & specials just for inn guests.

Room Tip: 1 room downstairs, 3 up. 1 of the upstairs room's baths is not attached (but is solely for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A lovely old home in a charming little wine country town. We spent 3 nights at the Carlton Inn and would love to have stayed longer. Karen is a gracious (and fun) hostess who whips up glorious breakfasts such as lemon ricotta pancakes with peppered bacon and creates a warm, relaxing atmosphere. Even when I told her that I flooded the upstairs bathroom (my fault) she merely smiled and said it had happened before. Karen gave excellent advice on where to eat and which wineries to visit as well as sought our opinions on places she has not yet visited. The property is extremely well kept, the towels fluffy, and I would (and likely will) go back in a heart beat. Carlton is a great little town with interesting, friendly people and a great base to visit wine country, the Evergreen Aviation museum and other nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocket100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Charming as all get out this lovely B&B is. From the antique furnishings, down to the gorgeous wood floors - it was very comfy and cozy being here. But, when we got into bed, the sheets were amazingly luxurious. I am not exaggerating about that. I actually ended up needing to buy some of my own and actually ordering them! It was either that or stealing them right off her bed! The bed itself also was extremely comfy! The house is old enough that the walls are thick so you will not hear other people's voices.

The location of this inn is on the same street as all those wine tasting places so we could walk on home after we were through imbibing all that lovely and heady wine we drank.

And in the morning, fresh coffee, homemade and local blueberry scones, local pears/peaches/berries, homemade organic yogurt and granola, organic vegetarian fritatta with local basil, veggies topped off with black chocolate cherry tomatoes.

Karen the innkeeper is wonderful and just makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likeslocalstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Karen, the new innkeeper of Carlton B&B is a gracious person, an excellent cook and willing to extend herself. We are staying two nights and very much looking forward to tomorrow's breakfast. Everything is fresh, healthy and beautifully presented. We are biking the less busy back roads around Carlton.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hummingbird5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Carlton Inn is snuggled in the sweet town of Carlton located in the Williamette Valley. The town hosts a row of wine tasting venues. Heidi greeted us warmly to the inn. The Victorian house was decorated with country antiques and comfy furnishings. A gourmet breakfast was served each morning using local foods, e.g., salmon hash, blueberry scones, creamed polenta w/ sausage. We occupied a room for 3 which had a private bath. The room was comfortable however the street noise kept us awake. Karen, the new innkeeper, was orienting to her new occupation. She was pleasant and looking forward to her new role. It is true that the rooms were not made up daily and there are no complimentary afternoon refreshments. Nonetheless, we had a nice time and Heidi was helpful in arranging a wine tour and providing us with guidance for local restaurants and attractions.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I just wanted to respond that all the guest room windows have been replaced with dual paned/screened windows. Its truly amazing the difference this has made with insulating each of the guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.8 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
330 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
5.8 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 2 in McMinnville
129 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 648 W Main St, Carlton, OR 97111-9116
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: £106 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you arrive as a guest... Depart as a friend. Built in 1915, The Carlton Inn B&B is located within the charming community of Carlton, known as Oregon's most walkable wine district, "The Wine Capital of Oregon." A short walk and you will discover nearly two dozen tasting rooms and wineries as well as unique shops and wonderful restaurants. Within our B&B find four comfortable guestrooms, each with a private bathroom, equipped with blow dryer, fluffy towels, bath and body products; and two king rooms, and two queen-sized beds, each encased in soft microfiber sheets, and a warm, fluffy comforter; a living room with fireplace and TV area, and a shaded back porch overlooking the garden. You will dine on a multi-course breakfast prepared from scratch, using local products and produce when possible, some coming from the Inn's own garden and chickens. The Inn is considered a wine country destination, for this reason, no children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing