We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Carlton.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have stayed at the Carlton Inn a few times now. This last time we stayed in the Dundee Room. It was spacious (bigger than what we expected) and had a private bath. The room also had cookies! How can you go wrong with cookies? Karen seems like family now and we are warmly greeted every time we come. There's plenty of room for our group of 6 to sprawl inside and outside. Outside, Karen has a vegetable garden, chickens, and a great sitting area. Inside there is a parlor with lots of seating.

The breakfasts are always something special and I look forward to them whenever we stay at the Inn. There's granola with local yogurt and fruit, and then the main course is something very creative and hearty. I have never left hungry after a breakfast at the Inn. Also, the other guests have been fun and interesting people to meet. Nothing stuffy about this place. Great location, relaxation, company, and host. All around, the perfect place to relax and enjoy the wine country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank archanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Karen took great care of us again this year. The breakfasts are 5-star, the updating and remodeling have added comfort and it's just a fun place to stay. We are always treated like family. It makes us want to come back often.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms available are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjohnson726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Carlton Inn in the Garden Room. Our room was very nice. Our bed was comfortable. The attached bathroom was clean and well appointed.

Karen, the owner, was friendly from our first arrival through when we left. She seemed to think of guests a little as family over to visit. Her breakfasts were well prepared and very creative. We enjoyed them.

There is a variety of brochures and postcards for nearby attractions in the dining room. If you are planning to visit wineries, be sure to look for free tasing coupons, and let the wineries know where you are staying since we found that at least one of them offered complimentary tastings to guests even though there weren't any coupons left.

We did not see the upstairs so I cannot comment on other rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbu79_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We chose to stay in Carlton because it appeared to be a super-central location to get to know Oregon wine country, with many different tasting rooms for the local wineries and a reasonable selection of restaurants. What I didn't realise was that, out of season and on a Tuesday afternoon, most of Carlton is shut. However when we arrived and were chatting to Karen about where to eat, she said we could of course sit on her patio if we wanted to bring food in, so we drove to Safeway in McMinnville (5 minutes) and brought back a picnic which we lingered over in the charming back yard.
We had the room with the private bathroom, which was nicely decorated and scrupulously clean. The bed was very comfortable with excellent linen. If you are a light sleeper, like me, do ask for a room which doesn't face the road, as you may notice the traffic noise. My husband didn't hear a thing!

The highlight of staying with Karen (apart from Karen herself) is her breakfasts. The ricotta pancakes are amazing, and I especially liked the mango/strawberry salad with mint syrup. The second night we were there we did manage to get to a restaurant in Carlton (Cuvée) which was reasonable, but not a patch on breakfasts at The Inn. Karen truly loves what she does, and that care shines through.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house if you are a light sleeper. The Garden Room on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Thank you Karen for hosting us for the night! We had a room upstairs, the one with the extra bed. While looking for a b&b, I found other places where the daybed looked less than comfy. Not here! My bed was cozy, with a great mattress, good-smelling sheets, and a goose-down comforter. Karen gave us some wine tasting advice, as well as some free tasting cards to wineries we would have otherwise skipped but enjoyed visiting thanks to her. The breakfast was delish! She let us pack up what we couldn't finish :) Her chickens are very cute! Carlton is a tiny little town but there are a few wineries there as well is a wonderful bakery. It's a close drive to everywhere we wanted to go, and a little away from all the traffic.
My only caveat - it was a bit chilly in the house (even though Karen says she put new insulation where there was none), but this was not a problem at night because of the warm goose down comforter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lady_winter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Thanks to helpful Tripadvisor, we elected to stay at this charming well maintained inn in Carlton. Our "garden room" on the first floor was quiet, immaculate and comfortable. The new inn owner, Karen, is a truly gracious hostess. The Inn's location is easy walking distance to tiny downtown Carlton and its tasting rooms and tempting restaurant options. Another good find--thanks to fellow tripadvisor recommenders!

Room Tip: only saw our room (garden) which is on main floor and on the back of the house. Nice outlook and lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelpdx495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Lovely inn with a new innkeeper as of summer 2011.
Cozy rooms, each with private bath (note: one of the upstairs room's baths is *not* attached but no one else uses it...).
Wonderful craftsman touches - love the built-ins lining the dining room!
Tasty breakfasts made with love. Welcoming common rooms. Walk to several restaurants & winery tasting rooms.
Really nice fluffy white towels :) And thoughtful toiletries (this from a super-picky-about-skincare person).
Wifi and if you ask nicely you can use the wireless printer.
Innkeeper very personable, just the right mix of helpful & not too intrusive. Ask for local tips & specials just for inn guests.

Room Tip: 1 room downstairs, 3 up. 1 of the upstairs room's baths is not attached (but is solely for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 648 W Main St, Carlton, OR 97111-9116
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: £101 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you arrive as a guest... Depart as a friend. Built in 1915, The Carlton Inn B&B is located within the charming community of Carlton, known as Oregon's most walkable wine district, "The Wine Capital of Oregon." A short walk and you will discover nearly two dozen tasting rooms and wineries as well as unique shops and wonderful restaurants. Within our B&B find four comfortable guestrooms, each with a private bathroom, equipped with blow dryer, fluffy towels, bath and body products; and two king rooms, and two queen-sized beds, each encased in soft microfiber sheets, and a warm, fluffy comforter; a living room with fireplace and TV area, and a shaded back porch overlooking the garden. You will dine on a multi-course breakfast prepared from scratch, using local products and produce when possible, some coming from the Inn's own garden and chickens. The Inn is considered a wine country destination, for this reason, no children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing