We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but not quite as good”
Review of Cuve'e

Cuve'e
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuve'e is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Carlton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kutch
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Close, but not quite as good”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I had dinner here last evening with a reservation. When we arrived there was only one other couple dining so we basically had out pick of tables. Our waiter was very pleasant as he took our wine request and brought some delicious bread. My wife chose asparagus leek soup and I a green salad to start. We both ordered rib eye steak which came with frites and mixed vegetables. The steaks were cooked properly, but mine had quite a bit of gristle and fat in it. The flavor was good, but there turned out to be far too much waste and was no where close to prime beef and if it was choice it was not trimmed well. Frites came with a great marmalade and the veggies were good.
We have had their creme brulee in the past and gave it another try. Once again it was outstanding and we both agree it was probably the best we've eaten anywhere.

Other than the my beef not being a good cut, we had to put up with a group of 18 people who came in shortly after we were seated. This is quite a small restaurant so when you dump 18 people into it who all know each other and are talking loudly it pretty much ruined the ambiance for us. Certainly not their fault nor the restaurant's, but we were hoping to have a nice quiet meal and that didn't work out for us. Overall still quite a good meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    18
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carlton charmer”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our party of eight had a wonderful dinner at Cuve'e. The waiter suggested we go with four starters and four desserts so we could sample more of the menu and we enjoyed every bite. The prix fix menu is a great value. And of course the local wines are stellar.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank anncpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Cuvee was recommended to us by our Innkeeper at the Carlton Inn B&B. We went there this past Saturday. Our meal was fantastic. My husband ordered the special which was Ono and I ordered the Filet Mignon pork medallions. The fish and the pork were superb. The accompaniments for both our dishes were equally good and flavorful. Our meal came with a choice of soup or salad (we both chose the asparagus and sweet potato soup) and a dessert. My hubby had the creme brulee and I had the chocolate mousse. We also had a nice bottle of wine with dinner. The owner and chef attends to your needs and has a great sense of humor. We not only loved our meal, but had a very nice conversation afterwards. If you make it to Carlton make sure to stop and eat here, you will enjoy the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fluttergirlSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaston, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something missing!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Meal was pretty good, but with Phillepe missing the atmosphere was stagnant.

Gilbert can make wonderful meals and has a mediocre personallity.
Still one of the best eting places in Carlton.
Bring our own wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyellliis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little slice of France in the willamette valley”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I've been coming to Cuvée for several years and enjoy it every time. The food is consistently good, w/ a nice selection of Oregon and French wines. Gilbert, the owner and chef is a talented and entertaining host. The mushrooms w/ semolina cake is a particular lunch favorite!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuve'e also viewed

 

Been to Cuve'e? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing