We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute best weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookside Inn on Abbey Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookside Inn on Abbey Road
Ranked #3 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
“The absolute best weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My husband and I are still talking about what a wonderful experience we had at Brookside Inn. The property was so beautiful, I must have taken 75 pictures around the Inn alone, not to mention the gorgeous hills and wineries in the immediate area. Susan and Bruce are some of the sweetest people, we actually left feeling more like friends than patrons. And, the food... I don't think I have the words to do the food justice, saying it was delicious is a vast understatement, I literally left every meal saying, "This is the best food I've ever had!"

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel90802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    10
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
92
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

I have never been hugged by an innkeeper but was not really surprised by Sue's (organizer extraordinaire) departing hug after spending two comfortable nights at Brookside. Scone reviews are right on as well as breakfast commentary. Bruce loves the cooking and it shows in his morning wake-up. These two are certainly committed to their dream and I hope they continue to GROW the business.

Brookside is a B&B but without all the Victorian bird cages, potpourri, creaky floors or crumby plumbing. Sue and Bruce are meticulous hosts and leave the place wide open to their visitors without being intrusive. They are very helpful when you want help and have some great contacts (John S is GREAT no BS wind guide....well, "80% of the time." ) This property is off the main drag in the Valley and well worth the stop as long as you like the B&B, shared house feel. Not a bad thing but not yet a full fledged Inn. Note, Mondo is LARGE black NEWFY that is house dog and you will need to like dogs. Not an intrusion but worth mentioning in event you have pet issues or limitations.

There are not many quality options in my opinion in this area but his is one quality place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Brookside Inn for our 30th anniversary and loved every moment. Even with the rainy weather we had a delightful time. The grounds of the Inn are remarkable. Flowers, streams, rolling hiils- really beautiful. Our room was in the main house but was very private and comfortable.
The host's, Bruce and Susan, were very gracious while respecting our privacy. They were wonderful to chat with; you can tell they really appreciate the Willamete Valley and love what they do.
Bruce's cooking is really to die for. His scones are so tasty, I don't think I will eat another store bought one again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

For over a month, we looked forward to Valentine's Dinner 2010 and spending the night at the Brookside Inn. At dinner, the wine and service was delightful. However the food was at best mediocre. At our table of three couples, no one took more than a taste of the wild mushroom soup. Prior to serving the soup we were told that it is difficult if not impossible to get all of the sand out of the mushrooms. They were right. The soup was not edible and should not have been served. The rest of the meal was nothing special. To top off our stay, we had cold showers the next morning because there was no hot water (we weren’t the only guests who experienced cold showers). At breakfast when we told the innkeepers that there was no hot water, their response was "too bad we didn't know about that yesterday". It is a beautiful place and the innkeepers were friendly but we left feeling that they were not really concerned about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zwinelvr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookside_mgt, owner at Brookside Inn on Abbey Road, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
At The Brookside Inn we take our guests comments very seriously and take pride in resolving any issue when they occur. In this case we were not made aware of any issues in the review (nor his dissatisfaction with the price) until the guest was checking out. This precluded explaining the dual control – temperature and pressure – showers controls. The dining room was made aware of grit in the mushroom soup prior to service but the active decision was explained that the rich forest tastes of fresh mushrooms offset the graininess.
We set policy when we opened The Brookside Inn that we would not be threatened or coerced by a guest into reducing charges to prevent a customer from publishing an unsatisfactory review.

Brookside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

The Brookside is quite nice and located on a beautiful property and the host/owners are great. We really enjoyed the craftsman style and the large airy greatroom. Our room was relatively austere for a B&B or small inn as compared to the 50+ I've mostly enjoyed over the past 35 years or so. However the king bed was wonderful and the bathroom was fine, but nothing special. Our particular room was $325 per night and for what it is I believe that it is considerably over priced as compared to similar properties in the wine country of Napa/Sonoma, CA and several other areas I have been to.

The breakfast offered was very simple and yes very tasty, but not very immaginative, but
more than enough. However, I can make just as good scrambled eggs, bacon and toast at home. Granted we only had one breakfast and I have no idea what else Bruce can cook. His scones were great and the coffee was wonderful too! Good food, but we thought just a little too basic compared to many previous experiences at other similar type properties.

Would I recommend the Brookside to others? Absolutely! It really doesn't come to close to our two benchmark inns, but it's far better than many others we have experienced and is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

Don't expect the Brookside Inn to be a vineyard, however the property is stunning. Our hosts were gracious and breakfast was marvelous. The scones are mouth watering delicious. The common room was nicely done and well appointed which helped to compensate for our small, modest room. There was no late afternoon wine offering and although it was a cold night, no fire had been set. These are small atttentions that would have made a difference for us, making the experience a little over-priced. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddinhead5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have travelled to the Oregon wine country many times, each time in the past we stayed in Portland. Never again. The Brookside Inn and Bruce and Susan were fantastic - we will highly recommend Brookside to anyone traveling to the area. It was very relaxing to unwind in their quiet Inn. Set in the heart of wine country, it is easy to get to all wineries and local restaurants from there as home base. Room was very comfortable - all in Craftsman style - and very quiet. We are discriminating travelers, used to staying in fine hotels around the world - this was our first time ever in a B&B, and we were pleasantly surprised with just how relaxing it was. The food there was great. Bruce bills himself as a cook not a chef... but the breakfast was fantastic. The homemade scones will be the best you've ever tried - and the granola with toasted hazelnuts even better! We were lucky enough to dine there one evening - if you arrange it well in advance, Bruce often prepares wine dinners - and ours was truly special. The local winery connections that Bruce and Susan have are great - you can gain access to some very good finds that locals know about but are often missed by the tourists. A special place - we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
6.3 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
3.9 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Inn on Abbey Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Inn on Abbey Road

Property: Brookside Inn on Abbey Road
Address: 8243 Abbey Road, Carlton, OR 97111-9503
Region: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly exceptional Northwest lodging experience in the heart of Oregon's wine country. Situated on 22 shaded acres, Brookside Inn On Abbey Road is a secluded bed and breakfast retreat 45 minutes southwest of Portland in Yamhill County. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing