We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Bad As I Thought”
Review of Columbia Gorge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbia Gorge Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Based on the reviews, I thought this would be my worst stay in Oregon. Maybe my low expectations raised my own experience. Here are my Pros and Cons:

Pros:

Price: I paid $118 total for a double queen on a weekend night in high-season late August.

Room: My room had modern bedding and a sink/large mirror outside the bathroom.

Adjacent Restaurant: Serves a nice breakfast and will give you a 10 percent discount if you mention the hotel.

Cons:

Outer Shabbiness: The outside of the hotel needs a facelift, and the staff needs to clean the cobwebs in the outer railings.

Shower: The Shower is a drain in the floor with a curtain (very European!). We found to our surprise, though, that the showerhead was excellent and the bathroom did not get wet as we expected.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, kind manager, but thought it was a little closer to the freeway.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The worst experience I've ever had. We checked in around 11 am and the room looked decent.. about what i expected for the price I paid. We left to do some running around and came back to find my daughters toys that had been left in the room, covered in ants. I was horrified. I immediatly went to the desk to speak with someone about the room. She was unfriendly, didnt seem to care and only offered to move us a few doors down. If it hadnt been for the fact that I couldnt get my money back, we would have stayed somewhere else. The other room was ant free however, you could tell the door had been kicked in and roughly patched. Upon departure the next morning it took several minutes just to get the deadbolt unlocked. The Shower didnt work, had to shower at my mother-in-laws place later that morning. DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS PLACE, WHO KNOWS WHATS HIDING IN YOUR ROOM.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tiffany h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Best value in Cascade Locks hands down! Perfect location, amazingly friendly and welcoming staff. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in town. Thank you Columbia Gorge Inn

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tenderfoot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place is very run down. Had a reservation, checked in, checkout in 20 minutes. Found a place down the road. Would never come again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike7721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Rooms have seen better days....decades ago. Some good housekeeping could go a long way here. NO towels upon checkin....none. Dusty dusty dusty (see picks) - giant dust clots in corners and shower fan. 14 inch hair on wall next to sink. 2/3rds of hotel is occupied by local 'fishermen' permanently and they are not neat (see picks). Too bad, it looks like this was a 1st class spot about 25 years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiagorgeinn, Owner at Columbia Gorge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for your comments whether positive or negative management values your opinion.
I would like to respond to a review stating local fisherman permanently reside at the motel in two thirds of the rooms. I want to say there are no permanent residents at all that reside here at the Columbia Gorge Inn. I also realize these reviews were made a year ago. We are currently looking at all your reviews serious and have been spending a lot of time remodeling and upgrading our rooms. At this time some of the improvements we've made include new bedding and linen . Rooms have been deep cleaned and painted,new tile, toilets and fans have been placed in rooms also. we are in the process of more upgrading and will keep viewer updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I don't ask for much in a budget motel, just clean rooms and a bathroom that works. This room was filthy, the toilet flushed continually all night and I had to take the cistern lid off and stuff one of my socks in it to make it stop. There's a small town just over the river called Stevenson that has some other motels. Don't stay here! Also at 85 dollars it was WAY over priced, I wouldn't pay 8.50 for this dump.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogergray1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
24.9 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,085 reviews
16.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
18.8 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
348 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skamania Lodge
Skamania Lodge
#1 of 4 in Stevenson
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Inn

Address: 404 Wa Na Pa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Region: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Columbia Gorge Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columbia Gorge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing