We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, new name, not impressed”
Review of Pacific Crest Pub - CLOSED

Pacific Crest Pub
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New owners, new name, not impressed”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Eating choices in Cascade Locks are slim and none. We had eaten in Stevenson, WA the previous night and didn't want to cross the bridge again for dinner. What a mistake. This "ale house" has a very limited menu...burgers, sandwiches, hoagies, pizza. I was hungry for chicken strip tenders. The only option was a hoagie with baked chicken strips. So I has a Philly Cheese Steak and fries. The fries were great. The Philly was ordered requesting no peppers, that didn't happen. It was greasy as well. My wife ordered the nachos. She got a large platter of Tostitos with diced tomato and melted shredded cheese. Very bland. She did say hold the black olives and they did.
The place seemed to be a drinking spot for the loud locals sitting at the bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocPhil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Wow…much room for improvement needed with the staffing and service of this place! We spent one night in Cascade Locks after touring the Columbia river gorge and the hotel recommended this place…keep in mind there are only a handful of restaurants in this town and not many good choices (Hood River a much better place to dine!). The service was hands-down some of the WORST I’ve ever had…although I will express a slight bit of sympathy as I think the server we had was new. But that was not the only issue. Took forever to get anyone to acknowledge our presence and we were finally told to sit where we want…had to go get our own menus, and took forever to get waited on. The food was actually pretty good, no complaints there…good chef salad and pulled pork. But the waitress seemed incredibly baffled when asked for a glass to pour a beer into (It’s a brew pub…really? No one ever wants a beer in a glass…what!?!)…and she seemed equally baffled by a request for extra napkins. Several tables including ours were waited on before the wait staff realized the table behind us which arrived at the same time we did NEVER got helped. And at the end of the meal we had to walk up to the bar and practically beg for our tab so we could get out of there…not a good experience. If you stay in Cascade Locks, make sure you eat in Hood River or even Gresham as there are many more selections.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CONatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pizza and beer hit the spot”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Tired and hungry from a day touring the waterfalls and Bonneville Dam we stopped in here for a late lunch/early dinner. The waitress was helpful and friendly. My husband tried a local beer which had too strong a taste for me. We shared an enormous salad. which was a bit heavy on the olives, and a 10" veggie pizza. The pizza was hot and crisp and tasty, but would have been better had they omitted the onions as we requested. We loved the atmosphere. Obviously most of the other customers who bellied up to the bar for late afternoon libations were locals, known to each other and the waitress. It was a nice change from the usual tourist trap. Take a look at the pictures in the hallway by the restrooms. They show the gorge before the dam was built, and are fascinating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“It's now Cascade Locks Ale House”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a nice meal of pizza and beer. The service was good, the atmosphere was nice and the place was clean. We will be back next time we are here to see the waterfalls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USN_Seabee_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amboy, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The old pub is gone”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Disapponting to say the least. I was sad because the salmon chowder they used to have was not the same as we remember. It was our 22nd wedding anniversary and he took me hee on one of our first dates. The food and service was awesome. I was in love with the chowder. The service was LOUSY and the wait staff seem to care less. They brought us our food after an hour wait and we were one of the only people there. Did they have to catch the salmon? Not at all what we remember and we will NOT be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Crest Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing