We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family fishing trip!”

Always Catchin' Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Always Catchin’ is a fully licensed and insured guide service providing Salmon, Steelhead and Sturgeon fishing trips on the Columbia and Willamette Rivers, from Portland to the Johnday River. Guided Fishing Trips Make great gifts and an excellent adventure for family and friends.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome family fishing trip!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The highlight of our stay at Skamania Lodge (which itself is a great place to stay) was our fishing trip with Jess. I got a great feeling just during the process of arranging the trip since Jess was so responsive and helpful with his suggestions. He took care of my family, paying particular attention to our two kids, and even provided a heater when my wife started getting chilly. Jess knew exactly where the fish were -- we caught 12 sturgeon within 3 hours!

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank supergeeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess Z, Owner at Always Catchin' Fishing Charters, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
It is very exciting for me to see people having a great time on the river. I had a lot of fun fishing with you guys and hope you come out with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DiamondGirl419
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband did extensive research of fishing guides in the Columbia River Gorge/Cascade Locks/Hood River area before we left for our trip to Stevenson WA's Skamania Lodge in September 2012. Since he had never fished for sturgeon, we booked a few days with Jess and my husband could not have been more pleased with him. Jess put him on quite a few sturgeon in one day; my husband hooked 7, one of them being over 200 lbs and 7 feet long. One day was specifically salmon fishing and my husband enjoyed that also. We found his fees to be very reasonable and we absolutely recommend him to anyone who enjoys fishing. You will not be disappointed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiamondGirl419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess Z, Owner at Always Catchin' Fishing Charters, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding your fishing trip. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Fishing, Great Company”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Both the fishing and company were great. I'd highly recommend booking a trip with Jess. My boyfriend and I booked Sturgeon fishing with Jess for two half days and it was like fishing with a friend who happened to have a boat, know where all the fish were, and knows how to catch them. He also provided us with local travel guidance on where to hike, where to eat, some good photo locations, etc.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank CassK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess Z, Owner at Always Catchin' Fishing Charters, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words about always catchin fishing charters, LLC. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our customers well. We look forward to serving you again soon. Gratefully,always catchin fishing charters, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We always caught!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went fishing two days in mid September and brought home 3 Chinook averaging about 22lbs. A great time and great salmon, thanks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank matthew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess Z, Owner at Always Catchin' Fishing Charters, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thanks for fishing with us an I hope you come out aging!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Clarendon, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A day of fishing and knowledge”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had the pleasure of spending the day with Jess fishing for salmon on the Columbia River. Not only did he put us on fish but he also explained the mysterious cycle of salmon and how this precious animal affects the NorthWest. It's the efforts like Jess that make sport fishing available and help disseminate valuable information about the hatchery programs and the fate of the salmon.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 777jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess Z, Owner at Always Catchin' Fishing Charters, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thanks for the review on Tripadvisor. We sure enjoyed have you spend the day with us on the Columbia River. hope you come aging soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Always Catchin' Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Always Catchin' Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing