We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay while seeing the Gorge and Hood River!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a special Best Western! Book early as they fill up in advance, for a reason. The king room we have stayed in was large, nicely appointed, and mostly- (make sure you get a room on the view side) had a balcony/ french doors right overlooking the river, complete with railroad tracks. Sound annoying? Well, if you don't love trains it would be. But this corridor provides goods on a constant basis from Eastern Oregon to Portland and beyond, so the freight trains moving up and down both sides of the river brought us way back to remembering that everything nowadays is NOT instant or electronically transmitted. Trains are old-fashioned and cool! We were not kept awake, in fact we were lulled to sleep, and coffee out on the balcony was wonderful in the mornings. A great place to take day trips from, and the staff was great and courteous. A very good breakfast in the dining room, and the room rates are quite reasonable for what you get!
We plan to stay there each Oregon trip we make to that area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epiphany1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful National Scenic Area, and the trains did not bother you. If I could move those tracks I would do it today, but you are right they are moving commerce east and west. We invite you to return and enjoy all the beauty of the Gorge and stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Staff were MOST helpful anytime I needed assistance. Gorgeous view, clean and comfortable, wonderful breakfasts with plenty of fresh cooked food. I have traveled a lot in the past 30 years and this is one of the best hotels I have found. I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rothwell, Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your lovely comments about the property. We are so very lucky to in the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area and all the beauty. I invite you to return and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had stayed here in the 1990's, remembered the lovely setting, and returned last week for an overnight stop on our trip up the Columbia Gorge. Our king room was very large and recently painted, with new furniture and a HUGE flat-screen TV. Nice granite vanity.

The bathroom itself, however, was fairly tiny (pet peeve), with a bath-fitter-style tub/shower. Unlike many tiny motel bathrooms though, this one had a very effective fan.

We had our dog with us, and were pleased to discover that the pet fee was only $10.00. However, the online reservation system somehow didn't communicate the fact that the dog was coming along; the desk clerk was surprised to hear that we needed a pet-friendly room, and we momentarily worried that there wouldn't be a room for us....

Our favorite part of the stay was breakfast. They have a large, lovely breakfast room here (not a converted meeting room, or two guest rooms with the wall broken out). Plenty of tables (another pet peeve), plenty of hot breakfast options plus the usual cereals, rolls, yogurt, etc. And everything was kept well-stocked and clean by a cheerful young woman--kudos to her for doing such a good job!

The weather was fairly awful, but we managed a walk up the street to Marine Park--very interesting old locks there. Otherwise, there isn't much to do in Cascade Locks besides watching the river, the interesting boat-and-barge traffic, the Bridge of the Gods, and the hills of Washington State. This is a great place to stay as you visit the gorge.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are please you stayed with us again after so much time had past since your last venture to the Gorge. A lot has changed here over the last 15 years and we are pleased we met your expectations. We invite you to return again in the Summer or Fall when we can depend on the weather a little more here in the Gorge. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you can get past the poor registration, you will be delighted to stay at this hotel. Beautiful view of the river/Gorge. Close to everything, easy access. They will be remodeling soon and not sure why as room, bed, amenities, (pool,hot tub, work out room, lobby, lounge, outdoor area) all very nice and relaxing. It was better than I anticipated! I will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

I am very sorry that your arrival process did not meet your expectations, this is not something we like to hear and I apologize. We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful Columbia River Gorge and we invite you to return and stay with us so that we can prove our service is "top-notch". Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Took the family on a trip to the left coast and we stopped in at the Bridge of the Gods for a few nights while we explored around Mount Hood a bit. The hotel was exceptional, very helpful. I woudl most certainly stay here again in the future and I have already recommended this hotel to a co worker.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking a few days to explore the Gorge and Mt. Hood on your way to the coast. We invite you to return to stay with us the next time your visit the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is located on the banks of Columbia river with a very scenic view of the river and the Bridge of the gods from the balcony. Close to most places of tourist attraction like the Multnoma Falls, Bonneville dam and hatchery and Marine park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good choice of food items in the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Inderjeet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. Thank you for staying with us and we invite you to return to the Gorge and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were expecting a mediocre stay at a typical chain for a really good rate, and were very surprised to stay at one of the cleanest, modern and very friendly place. The 'continental' breakfast had the most selections of hot & cold foods I've seen, and the staff kept the place extremely clean. They offered suggestions to sightsee in the area, and were very helpful. Definitely want to go back here, the view is spectacular

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and for staying with us. We are very lucky to be in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge, I never get tired of our view. We invite you back to stay with and continue your wonderful experiences in the Heart of the Gorge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
17 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
24.7 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
17 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
805 reviews
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn

Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range: £71 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing