We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Bad Air Conditioner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place - Bad Air Conditioner”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This Inn was great in every respect - beautiful location on the Columbia River, very nice suite with lots of space and a walk-out on to the river, easy parking, restaurant available on-site, convenient access to the marina. Really the only issue we had, was that the air conditioner unit in the bedroom started making this loud clacking noise in the middle of the night. I figured, no problem, I'll just unplug the unit and that should take care it, but for some reason, even after completely unplugging it from the wall, it kept making this sound for an hour afterwards before it finally gave up and was silent. I'm sure this was just a one-time occurrence, so I hate to lower my rating of this Inn, which was otherwise everything it was supposed to be.

Room Tip: The suite we had was actually a real suite, with a dining room table, living area, a jacuzzi and sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the National Scenic Area. I am so sorry the air unit gave you such a problem and I cannot explain the noise coming from the unit. The maintenance department is also baffled as they cannot make it happen again so as to fix it. We have changed it out...just in case. We hope you will return to the Gorge and invite you to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    283
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
260
427
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
seattle, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

BW columbia river in is by far the best hotel in the mid-gorge (around cascade locks / stevenson) & we tried them all (including the terrible skamania lodge). staff very friendly and helpful, beautiful views of bridge of the gods,rooms large, comfortable & clean, wifi & bkfst included. Hotel is next to train track but so is everything in this part of the gorge (not a huge problem if you keep the windows closed)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Oh gosh you know about the train tracks in the Gorge; if I could move those tracks today I would do it. Thank you so much for staying with us and your very nice comments. We invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in the National Scenic Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

beautiful view of the columbia river -watched the fire works on the 4th from their grassy area- awesome sunsets - new micro brewery close by in park area, great outside tables - it was fun --met/visited with nice people - right on the river by campground.
mountain/gorge side has a very nice view too from the rooms. handy restaurant next door for breakfast (included with stay) - char broiler...always good! walking trails close by. will defintely go again...stern wheeler ride was awesome too.

Room Tip: all was good! staff, everything, great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halleckst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, by your review I can tell you got the "whole Gorge" deal! We are so lucky to be in the National Scenic Area and all this beauty. We hope you will return again and invite you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was very nice, great view, great restaurant next door, friendly staff. My husband and I purchased our dinner from the restaurant next door and brought it back to the hotel. We sat out on the patio to eat and enjoy the view of the river. The staff was very friendly making suggestions on things to see and do. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom/sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
When it is nice here there is nothing like the million dollar view out our back door...thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed the deck and the area. We hope you will return to the Gorge and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Like new rooms with big comfey, clean beds. was not noisey. great views, good breakfast. Nice people. Seemed a bit expensive but the room was like new and full breadfast was included with for myself and my husband. They did give us a little discount for AARP membership.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darcie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with and we are pleased your room met your expectations. We are so lucky to have a million dollar view and there is not a day that I do not go out to the Observation Room to look at the river. We invite you to return to the Gorge and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while exploring the Hood River area. We loved the expansive view of the river, as well as the access to hiking trails. The room was large and had a refrigerator, which was great because fresh-from-the-farm fruit was easier to find than nearby restaurant meals. Yes, there is a restaurant next-door, and yes, breakfast there was included in our stay, but food allergies and a large crowd deterred our taking advantage of it. Although the location is 25 minutes away from Hood River and the local wineries, the view of sunset over the Columbia makes the trip back to the hotel totally worth it.

Room Tip: The river view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you discovered the Columbia River Gorge. We are fortunate to be so close to the Hood River Valley and all of the fresh produce. We hope you will return to the Gorge and invite you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chehalis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Dollar for Dollar a really nice place to stay on the Columbia River. Locals selling Salmon in the parking lot was a plus. Staff are really inviting and friendly. Rooms spacious and furnishings are top notch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bedbury, Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and for staying with us. We are very lucky to be in the heart of the National Scenic Area. Cascade Locks is a bee hive of river activity in the summer and it is great fun when the salmon are in. We invite you to return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
17.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
24.7 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing