We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having seen the boat on numerous occasions, we decided do try the Sternwheeler Dinner cruise with another couple. The experience was a pleasant surprise on a number of fronts. The scenery was wonderful and the boat traveled up and down the river further than we had anticipated. Our host, Wil, was quite knowledgeable about the boat and the history of strernwheelers on the Columbia river. We learned much more than we expected and the stories really added to the positive experience. On the top deck, we got invited into the captain's bridge. We asked questions and one of our party got the opportunity to drive the boat. Not sure if this is common, but it was yet another highlight of our time on the boat.

The food was very good overall, the desserts lacking the quality of the main courses. The shrimp appetizer was good, but over priced based on the quantity. Logistically, everything was on time and getting on and off the boat was quite easy.

Though it was a dinner cruise, we all felt that the dinner was secondary to the stories, the people and the scenery. This would be a great cruise to take with or without the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dustyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear the cruise exceeded your expectations.
We hope to have you on board again in the future!
Thanks,
The Columbia Gorge Sternwheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to experience the Columbia Gorge.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The boat was not crowded at all. The captain invited passengers to join him in the wheelhouse for a better view and to get in from the wind. We joined him there and he asked my husband if he would like to pilot the boat. He said yes of course and had a great time talking to him about the Columbia River and its history. The captain has piloted boats on this river for 35 years.

They offer drinks and snacks on the shorter cruises and also have lunch and dinner options. I didn't eat anything on the boat so can't comment on that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mickishell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your response! We are so glad to here you enjoyed the cruise. We invite you back to enjoy our NW cuisine on the Sternwheeler or at the Locks Waterfront Grill - great riverside viewing with house made fare. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Have a wonderful holiday weekend!
The Columbia Gorge Sternwheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth doing- Once.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We decided to amuse ourselves and take an evening dinner cruise just for fun, while staying at the Best Western on our annual Oregon visit. We knew it probably would have some tacky touches, but wanted the adventure. We were annoyed at not being allowed onto the boat without having our photo taken (they said security reasons, we thought $$ reasons) but got over it. Yes, the furnishings were on the tacky side, but Hey, this boat is old, charming, and is supposed to be like that! The dinner was of course nothing special, but we didn't expect it to be. The captain who gave the audio tour of the river's history and more was very good, very entertaining. We really enjoyed going out on deck (COLD and windy, so bundle up good!) and had a really nice time with ourselves, enjoying the history. So, been there, done that!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Epiphany1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the cruise.
The boat is a period style vessel indicative of the Sternwheelers that cruised on the Columbia in years past.
We hope you do join us again on board!
Thank you,
The Columbia Gorge Sternwheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade Locks, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The narrative was great, but if inside the cabin the narrative was difficult to hear. Scenery is beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing you cruise with us on the Sternwheeler and for the notes about being able to hear the narration indoors. This comment has been passed on to our Engineer so that they can look into it further. Thanks again and we hope to have you on board again soon!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Although I'm a local here in the Gorge, I had never actually been on the Sternwheeler until last Saturday Night. A friend came up from California, and I decided that we needed to do some of the tourist things around here. Wow!! I had so much fun...the dinner was perfect, (We both had the steak), and the views and information shared by the captain were great. I'm thinking that if there is a holiday cruise, I will try to book that as well, even though my friend will be gone by then. Great job by everyone on that cruise!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Gail - so glad we finally got the chance to get you on board! And even more happy that you had a great time. We do operate during the holiday season in Portland so you should visit our website to check out the schedule. Thanks for the great review!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge also viewed

 
Cascade Locks, OR
 

Been to Sternwheeler Columbia Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing