We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, unhospitable hosts...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Willows Inn
Captain Cook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, unhospitable hosts...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We just attended a wedding at the Willows where we also had booked the entire inn for Saturday night. It was indeed a beautiful setting, and the wedding was amazing. However, from the time we came in on Saturday morning to begin setting up, until we left on Sunday morning, our hosts, Sandy and Joe, were nothing short of unhospitable. The bride and groom had discussed plans months in advance with them, including the fact that guests staying there could check in early (10 am)on the day of the wedding. However, when someone tried to do that a little after 10 am, they were informed by Joe that check in was at 2 and that they couldn't allow people early because they would "lose control of the house." Sandy was who had said this was okay, but was mysteriously unavailable until afternoon, because she was taking a nap (??). Keeping in mind that the wedding was at three that afternoon. Joe finally let people check in early after it was pointed out that Sandy had said they could, but only after sending guests away (with a small baby), and quite rudely also. While the wedding guests were mostly unaware throughout the day of the drama going on, select family members were busy putting out fires that our hosts deemed unacceptable. I agree with Chris's review, that we were treated like children who needed constant nagging, with less than loving parents! Breakfast the next morning, while delicious, was lukewarm at best (Eggs Benedict) and our hostess made an appearance only to walk through while we were eating, but not to talk or welcome. Coffee was not available until 8:00 and when asked for sugar (it was not out) by a guest, it was treated as a majorly inconvenient request. I would not recommend nor ever stay at the Willows again. I would also suggest that Sandy and Joe consider another business, one that dosn't require positive personal interactions with their clients. In closing, beautiful place, terrible customer service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ane53CaptainCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Owner at The Willows Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Please read the manager's response for the Sept 10, 2010 review. This is the same wedding with the same issues being reviewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    3
    0
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camino, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We had a wonderful relaxing getaway in Southern Oregon. Joe and Sandy are the perfect host and made sure everything was taken care of so all we had to do was relax and enjoy. Our room was very spacious with a new king size bed and oversized on suite bathroom.

I would highly recommend The Willows for anyone looking for a little escape or for special occasions such as weddings or parties where you want to impress your guests.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

This weekend was a reception for our son and his new bride with her family and extended family. The newlyweds rented the whole facility so that we could stay together for the weekend. They'd planned a dinner catered by Sandy (one of the owners) for about 30 people. Details were worked out in advance with Joe and Sandy to have the extra guests come and spend the afternoon and then have dinner.
First let me say, that the property is lovely. I can't imagine a more beautiful setting or home to stay in. The beds were comfortable, the food was wonderful.
An example of the great hospitality is this... on Friday night, we were teasing Joe (as he was ready to retire for the night) that we didn't have any desert! He then came out about 10 minutes later with wonderful cheesecake treats!
We were given afternoon "snacks" and great breakfasts.
Unfortunately , all that being said, We got the feeling that Joe and Sandy really don't enjoy having people in their home. There were a multitude of rules that we kept being reminded about. Our group was about the most mellow group you can imagine. No one misbehaved in anyway. All were aged 20+ and many were the parents of those young people.
Our son was made to feel that he had to "police" everyone and it made what should have been a relaxed wonderful event, really stressful for him.
If we asked for anything, we got it grudgingly.
Sandy was heard to complain to her staff that we had picky eaters and too may special dietary needs. (we had a diabetic person and a couple vegetarians)
I feel that if you choose to be in the hospitality business you need to make your guests feel welcome and not as if they're "imposing". We truly didn't ask for anything special. It was just as if they they don't like to "deal with" any thing out of the ordinary.
This had been planned for months, and the kids paid a fair amount for the services. It would have been nice if they could have come away feeling as if they'd been appreciated and respected. I don't think that was the case. For this reason, I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyballoonpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Owner at The Willows Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
The Willows is both a Bed and Breakfast and an upscale venue for your event. The property's main house is listed on the National Historic Register, and we try very hard to maintain it for your enjoyment. The rooms are, however, for the exclusive use of registered guests only. We offer several locations for non overnight guests to enjoy the property and common areas within the mansion, but the guestrooms are not available for "pre-party" get togethers for event only guests. Even though it was explained to this customer, that information wasn't shared with their other guests.
Sandy is a classically trained chef, and can make wonderful things happen with just about any type of food, and this dinner was no exception. Dietary resrtictions such as vegetarian, etc. need to be communicated ahead of time for any chef to be able to accomodate the request. In this case the requests were made while the dinner was being plated and served. Cooking is a stressful art, and artists are sometimes a little tempermental about their work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

For the price of a modest roadside chain hotel, my husband and I were treated as welcome guests in a beautiful country estate. This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast but certainly will not be our last. Our room was elegantly appointed, every amenity was at our fingertips and our hosts were outstanding. No detail was overlooked for a relaxing stay and the gardens and surrounding grounds were a delight. And last but not least, we enjoyed a a delicious breakfast with local produce and artisan cheese. The Willows is located in the beautiful southern Oregon countryside yet easily accessible and close to local attractions. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Joe and his son do an amazing job at making you feel truly disconnected from the world with several unique areas to relax. You hardly notice that they have neighbors! Unfortunately, their unique and intimate property DOES NOT make up for the lack of hospitality and coordination between the two owners. My wife and I rented the entire place for the weekend, to share with are close family, and had a catered dinner prepared by Sandy. The food was nothing short of delicious, and she did a wonderful job of preparing a dinner to accommodate for some special requests. But, my mother-in-law overheard Sandy complaining to one of her assistants about “How picky and annoying these people are with their food allergies.”

The real problem with this Bed & Breakfast, was that neither Sandy or Joe could keep their facts straight. We had met with them on several occasions, leading up to our event, to work out details and what not. When we finally arrived, it felt like they were asking us questions every 10 minutes about these details we had discussed months ago. If that wasn’t bad enough, we were literally scolded for actions deemed acceptable during our pre-event meetings. Overall, their mood seemed to change each time I spoke with one of them, I felt like a little kid always asking for permission to go play.

By the end, everyone was just happy the ordeal was over and that we could leave. We all felt like we had intruded on their sacred land, when we were nothing less than polite. I do not plan on returning, ever!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, Owner at The Willows Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Please see the response we wrote for "Hot and Cold Hospitality" posted Aug 31. This is the same function with the same issues being reviewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

My husband and I just spent 5 wonderful days at the Willows Bed and Breakfast. It is listed under Center Point, but is also in the Medford, Jacksonville area.

The house is fantastic and the grounds are beautiful. There is a tennis court, a pool, a pond and walking trails. The breakfasts are gourmet and the service superb.

Joe and Sandy, owners and innkeepers, are very knowledgeable and eager to give advice and suggestions. We will certainly stay there again and recommend it to all our friends.

  • Liked — The food and the beautiful views outside our bedroom window
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrackenridgBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Point
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Medford-Central Point
3.9 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Medford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bybee's Historic Inn
Bybee's Historic Inn
#4 of 8 in Jacksonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Inn

Property: The Willows Inn
Address: 3347 Old Stage Rd, Central Point, OR 97502
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Central Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willows Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Willows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing