We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“linens stained and thread bare, pillows should be replaced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain John's Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleston
Silverdale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“linens stained and thread bare, pillows should be replaced.”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

keep moving, we went to the next town, and demanded a refund. did not stay the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    14
    8
    13
See reviews for
13
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
grants pass
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for weekend visits for over 20 years. We have also taken family, and recommened this hotel to many of our friends due to its low price and great location. However, due to what happened on our last visit-Sept 17-19, 2010- we will no longer consider staying here. At 8:30 A.M. on Sunday morning a man entered our room,without knocking, or any other type of warning. Needless to say, we were both asleep in bed. What makes this even worse is that during the night my demure nightie had riden up around my waist, and was no longer decently covering my backside. I, of course was was asleep and ignorant of this fact while-YOU GUESSED IT- on my side with my backside to the door. Talk about mortified. My husband told "Jen", the owner at the front desk, and the only response was "oh, sorry" . We were told by the maid that the man in our room was the owner's husband. We remain mystified as to why he would enter our room, as checkout time is 11:00, our car was parked directly in front of our door, [the only car around was ours] and we had not turned in our keys or signed our credit card slip. As an owner, you would think he'd know better. So, even though we put up with crumbling curtains, burnt out bulbs and less than clean walls all for the sake of a good price and great location, this was the deal breaker.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tlmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleston hotels

David, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This hotel is practically on the docks of Charleston and you can even hear the sea lions in your room. The hotel is older but really nice and very clean. Bed was great and room was large. It was nice to stay in an older hotel that is very well cared for. You couldn't beat the price and its within walking distance to 2 restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oceanloverDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This establishment is unbelievably run down. While the management seemed friendly and helpful enough with information, the facility is ancient, appointed with thrift store lamps, drapes falling off the rods, and has the odor of old feet. Stains grace both the linens and the walls. Not a value at any price...keep moving!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Costaltraveler678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We needed a place to stay on a Friday night on Oregon's coast during summer high season and found this hotel favorably mentioned in Lonely Planet's Oregon guidebook. What a find off the beaten path! While not glitzy, the motel was clean and well-priced, with a friendly staff, a kitchenette, and walking distance to seafood restaurants and a market. While we didn't fish, charter boats and crab pots can be rented nearby, and the motel has a "fish house" so guests can cook fish and crabs without stinking up their hotel rooms. They had two baby cribs and we got the adjoining rooms we requested (believe me, we don't often get this in bigger hotels). In room coffeemaker and free coffee and pastries in the lobby were a nice treat.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — further renovations would help
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NapaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
1.8 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
17.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
569 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain John's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain John's Motel

Property: Captain John's Motel
Address: 63360 Kingfisher Rd, Charleston, OR 97420-6645
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Charleston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain John's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Captain John's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing