We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant at the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Portside

Portside
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant at the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Been visiting Portside for already a year and half. Would.always wanted the top appetizers.. Baked mussels, crablegs, steam clam and calamari..i also enjoy the karaoke sing along every fridays and saturday with friends.Athmosphere here is always calm.and if you want another variety of food.. Visit the Sushi Garden.. You wont regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arasida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    43
    24
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I live in Coos Bay and have been taking guests from out of town to this restaurant for meals for years. Today, 1 Nov 2013, the meals were disgusting. I admit it is a few months since I have been there. I ordered the fish and chips. They were both obviously fried in oil that should have been changed a long time ago. They were served with a sweet sauce that was sickening. I had to ask for tarter sauce. Another person ordered salmon and said it was okay but nothing special. The third person ended up getting a hamburger because the seafood on the menu did not appeal to him though normally he does eat seafood. The prices have been increased excessively for the quality of food they are putting out. The restaurant is not a quality restaurant any longer. If you want well prepared food you will not visit that restaurant. The view does not make up for the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Knockout views of cove and marina backdrop, through large picture windows. Nice menu and good service. Atmosphere is older, Northwest and could use an update.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank blissss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

i have been going to the portside for years, has allways been fantastic, went one month ago and menu was changed, and very overpriced, we were a party of 6, ordered the captains platter, was frozen fish not fresh like it used to be, was not edible, the service was so poor, i asked waitress if they changed owners and got very argumentative, YES we went again all 6 of us thinking it might be a one time thing.....oh no, it was awfull, not edible, the service was so poor, we sat in the bar and couldnt get a beverage for nothing, the food was rotted and thankfully nobody got sick from what was eaten, will never go back and really saddens me because this was one of my favorite places to go, good bye portside

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Took three hours by the time we left restaurant,terrible service, one good meal out of four, one uneatable, ant in our drink, frozen fish not fresh, manager was extremely rude and argued when tried to tell her we were unhappy, way overpriced, u don't get anything with your meals all extra and no kids menu, wouldnt even let me try a wine by the glass! Never ever again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buckcherry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portside also viewed

Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Charleston, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Portside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing