We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay when visiting Crater Lake National Park”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chemult
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemult
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay when visiting Crater Lake National Park”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before spending a day in the park. Great location and very clean rooms.Yes, it is a look back to the days before the Hilton and Holiday Inn, but the new owner will break her back to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The fresh baked muffins with the coffee in the morning were excellent. A rustic motel in a convenient location, with a good cafe right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evening Shade, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My Husband and I are traveling cross country on our motorcycle, stopped in here to get a room for one night and loved it so much, we stayed another night ! Sheila is the owner here and has treated us just like family, she went out of her way to make our stay here very memorable. Our room is so clean & cozy & the atmosphere is outstanding ! We will make Whispering Pines Motel our destination on our next journey.. Thank you Sheila for all of your hospitality, you made our stay awesome ! Looking forward to our next time here.. :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful here.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This rustic motel with mobile units behind it is not much to look at but if you like management that will go out of its way to meet your needs, check it out. We had just started for Crater Lake out of Bend, OR when we came across this gem. We would have skipped the motel in Bend and pressed on to Chemult the previous day had we known about it. Next time I'm touring, I'll certainly give it a try.

It is under new management as of mid-summer 2013 so earlier reviews may not apply. I hope those staying more recently will post.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRamazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Step back into the 50s. Wood paneling on the walls and ceiling, 12" TV/VCR combo (no TV reception but a VCR lending library), mini-fridge and microwave. Sheets and towels were clean. Convienent location to Crater Lake. This is what family travel used to be like and it was kinda fun. They didn't have our reservation when we arrived but had a room available (only one other room occupied) and the price was right.
It is outside of Chemult but the diner across the highway has good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

First, this motel is not in Chemult proper, and Google Maps has a hard time placing it. It is about 10 miles south, at the intersection with the highway to Crater Lake.

This is a basic, bare-bones type of motel that has seen better days. A few notches below a Holiday Inn. Having said that, it is very clean and will do in a pinch, or if you want to save money.

Pros:
Convenient to Crater Lake
Very clean
Sheets, blankets and towels all seemed new
Very affordable
Room had a mini-fridge and microwave

Cons:
Large amounts of dirt/ash came out of all faucets at first, but water eventually ran clear
There appeared to be no TV signal at all - all units have VCRs, and the office has some movies you can borrow for this reason
Very minimal amenities - you will get some tiny soaps, but no shampoo
Lots of highway noise (but this is probably true of all the hotels along this road)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank visitor112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Absolutely the worst motel my family has ever stayed. Smelly room(3), broken toilet, loud truck noise. Called the manager on the toilet and she sent me to fetch the plunger. Couldn't be bothered. Plunger would not fix the toilet-it overflowed when one of my little boys peed in it. Gloria, the owner, would not refund the second night stay as we got out of there early after the first night. She claims she rents every room every night so she got double the $ on our room. She can't stand being an owner. Told me so. She had tried to sell the business but the new owners ran off and left. NO WONDER!!! So she was stuck back there and her attitude showed clearly she had no heart for this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chemult hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we showed up, nobody was there. we had to call the manager and she showed up about 15 minutes later. when she was checking me in, she didn't believe me that I had reservations - she said it was because the people who were going to buy it, took the hand written calendar with her. why else would I show up and tell this woman i had reservations when I didn't - not knowing that the calendar had been taken?!Then she said she only had one room left - that was a lie - no one showed up all night for at least two of the rooms. My husband & I were covered in sunscreen, bug spray, sweat and dust... went to take a shower...no water pressure - the shower was drizzling at best.... called the manager who was upset that I'd called her and said there was nothing she could do. she refused to give me an empty room. the next morning my husband woke up with a splitting sinus headache... mold? we tried to find somewhere else for the next night but everywhere was booked because of a local relay race ... we were stuck there another night - came back in same filthy condition - this time the shower din't work at all - imagine kneeling in a tub with your head under the faucet, using a hand towel to wash of bug spray, sunblock, sweat and dust on your knees... not a pretty site...the manager was rude, the tv didn't work, the room stunk - the only good thing about this place is it's location - right on the corner of 97 and 138... and surprisingly - no bed bugs! we'we wondering who wrote all these good reviews... the person who wanted to buy or current manager... we are not high maintenance people at all...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dirtygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemult
9.4 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#2 of 2 in Chemult
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
9.6 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
19.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
37.0 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dawson House Lodge
Dawson House Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chemult
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Motel

Property: Whispering Pines Motel
Address: 94400 Highway 97 N, Chemult, OR 97731-9755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Chemult
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemult
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Pines is under new management since June of 2013.We are excited to bring this lovely antique rustic motel back for visitors to Crater Lake. Hunters, hikers, skiers, snomobilers and fishers too will find this again a great base for all the fun activities in this historic beautiful area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Chemult
Whispering Pines Motel Oregon/Chemult

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing