We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like any other motel”
Review of Dawson House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dawson House Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Chemult B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The welcome was kind and efficient. The lady took us to the room to ensure that Things were OK..
Did your grandparents ever have a guest room? Then it might have looked like the one we had in Dawson House Lodge. Funny old furniture and quaint pictures on all the walls. Not very big and not that comfortable, but a funny and different experience along a minor highway off the beaten interstate tracks.
Breakfast is not served here, but we trotted across the highway (=main street) to KJ'S Cafe, where we had excellent food like at dinnertime the night before.
This is not Route 66. But you sure get a '66 feel' when staying here in Chemult,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Dawson House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed one night in the Rose Room on the way to Crater Lake National Park. There's not much choice in lodging or food in this area and most of the time the lodge in the park is booked up and also very expensive. Our stay was okay, a large room with jacuzzi tub. The owner was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJohnson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was horrible. For some reason keeper put so much air freshener just before we arrived - we had to ventilate room for several hours and still had some headaches because of strong smell in the morning. We originally reserved this place for two nights but decided to leave after the first one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were not expecting a 5 star hotel, but the value for money was not there. First impressions were the place had a bit of that country charm and we gave it a chance. There was a definite sour aroma that makes any weary traveller cringe. There were pieces of food in the pan scrubber from previous guests. Staff was polite and courteous. A/C was cool. It really needs a professional cleaning... Tighten it up, there is ton of potential, but I won't know unless I see it on a hotel makeover show because I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel_60520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Dawson for two nights in the Cowboy room. The room was very clean and very cowboy decorated. I loved how we got personal service from the owner, wish I could remember her name. She handed us the room key and then walked us up the inside stairs and showed us the room. She asked if we needed help with anything and then recommended a few places to eat in town. There is an outside entrance too and a very large balcony with chairs and tables. Our first night there we chose to eat on the balcony.

This hotel is very quiet even though there is a truck stop across the street with trucks coming and going all day long. I spoke with several other who were staying there too and they agreed it was quiet and comfortable.

My favorite was the claw footed tub and they even have it set up so you can take a shower. My only dislike were the stairs but that has nothing to do with the hotel. I had hurt my knee the previous day and the stairs weren't much fun. the parking lot is gravel so if you're on a motorcycle be careful. We didn't have any issues with it and were on bikes.

The entire town is pretty much walking distance so no need to drive anywhere.

Room Tip: Don't let the looks of the place turn you away. It is a gem of a hotel and one worth staying at.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We rented the upstairs room which has an air conditioner. It was not functioning correctly and would not get the room below about 85 degrees. It was miserable until about 2 a.m. when it finally cooled down with the sliding door open. The truck stop next door is very busy and there were loud trucks and motorcycles coming and going all night. We considered trying to find another place to stay, but there was really no where else to go by the time we realized the ac wasn't functioning. The owner was nice and did provide an additional fan, but none of us got more than a couple hours of sleep. We were on the road for 3 weeks and this is definitely the worst hotel experience we had. I would recommend stopping in Bend or other larger towns to spend the night before going to Crater Lake.
The room did have a small kitchen area which we only used to get dressed since the bathroom was very small and didn't have a sink.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chemult, Owner at Dawson House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

I am sorry that you had a poor experience at our Lodge. We were unaware when you checked in that the AC was not working properly in the Loft. We repaired it when it emptied and have since purchased a second air conditioner for the rear of the Loft. If someone has to have AC and would not want to stay in Chemult then you are correct they would need to book a Hotel in Bend 65 miles or Klamath Falls 75 miles as my upstairs Lodge Rooms are the only rooms in Chemult that offers AC. Because of the design of the Loft (next to the roof) it does tend to stay warmer even with AC and fans which is why we purchased the second air conditioner for the rear of the room. A remodel of the bathroom to install a sink is in the plans but will need to wait until we slow down in the winter as we have been booked solid all summer. I again apologize for your poor experience at our Lodge. Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Location near Crater Lake National Park was excellent, and provided a convenient and far less expensive alternative to the lodges inside the park. Also, in talking to the current owner (very friendly & helpful), I learned that under the prior owner back in 2009-2010, the property went into foreclosure due to the recession. As a result, it was not in as good shape then as we found it in June 2013. But various rating services will not remove the low ratings given during that 2009-2010 time period. Do not consider those 2009-2010 ratings in a decision whether or not to stay here. Our overall experience was excellent. Even though the building's outside structure is old, everything inside was well-maintained. Everything worked well, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and these were the most important factors to us. Note that Chemult is a very small town, and it was good to find such a good facility near the national park. But a "big city person" will not find the “big city stuff” (like a swimming pool or fitness center) in Chemult, Oregon. What they will find is great scenery, fantastic weather, clear, crisp air and friendly people.

Room Tip: Try for the Queen Suite --- a bit larger than the other rooms, which compared to hotel / motel chain...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemult
17.7 mi away
Woodsman Country Lodge
Woodsman Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crescent
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Chemult
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
59 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dawson House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson House Lodge

Address: 109455 Highway 97 N, P.O. Box 189, Chemult, OR 97731-9701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Chemult
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chemult
Price Range: £47 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawson House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawson House Lodge built in 1929 enjoys travelers from all over the world. Only 25 miles from Crater Lake National Park we are a popular place to stay for those visiting the park & wanting to enjoy the many outdoor wonders in our area. Hikers, fisherman and 2 & 4 wheel bikes enjoy the area in the summer while the winter attracts fisherman, hunters, snowmobiling & skiers. We are one block from the Amtrak Station in the center of town. With rooms to sleep 1-8 we have one to fit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dawson House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawson House Lodge Oregon/Chemult

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing