We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Dawson House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dawson House Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Chemult B&B and Inns
Bodegraven
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Don't let the look of the place take you off guard. It is a old building but with character. The room was nice and clean. Had two beds and a good bathroom. We were on our way to Crater Lake, well this is the place to stay for the night. Everything you would need for one night is here. It is not on a quiet location, but close to the park so we didn't bother. We received a kind reception. Subway across the road for any quick snack, not much else in Chemult.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
38
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in room #2 and did not experience the "sour aroma" that many other reviewers noted. The motel is a mix of new and shabby furnishings. New: curtains, carpet, mirror, and decor pillows. Shabby: tile counter, brass light fixtures, bed pillows. No A/C, but the fans were plenty adequate in September. Fridge and DVD player in the room. One other nice bonus: DVD library free to borrow at the front desk. Pilot Truck Stop across the street and Crater Lake about half hour away. If you're on a budget, you could do a lot worse than Dawson House Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The welcome was kind and efficient. The lady took us to the room to ensure that Things were OK..
Did your grandparents ever have a guest room? Then it might have looked like the one we had in Dawson House Lodge. Funny old furniture and quaint pictures on all the walls. Not very big and not that comfortable, but a funny and different experience along a minor highway off the beaten interstate tracks.
Breakfast is not served here, but we trotted across the highway (=main street) to KJ'S Cafe, where we had excellent food like at dinnertime the night before.
This is not Route 66. But you sure get a '66 feel' when staying here in Chemult,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed one night in the Rose Room on the way to Crater Lake National Park. There's not much choice in lodging or food in this area and most of the time the lodge in the park is booked up and also very expensive. Our stay was okay, a large room with jacuzzi tub. The owner was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJohnson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was horrible. For some reason keeper put so much air freshener just before we arrived - we had to ventilate room for several hours and still had some headaches because of strong smell in the morning. We originally reserved this place for two nights but decided to leave after the first one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were not expecting a 5 star hotel, but the value for money was not there. First impressions were the place had a bit of that country charm and we gave it a chance. There was a definite sour aroma that makes any weary traveller cringe. There were pieces of food in the pan scrubber from previous guests. Staff was polite and courteous. A/C was cool. It really needs a professional cleaning... Tighten it up, there is ton of potential, but I won't know unless I see it on a hotel makeover show because I will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel_60520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Dawson for two nights in the Cowboy room. The room was very clean and very cowboy decorated. I loved how we got personal service from the owner, wish I could remember her name. She handed us the room key and then walked us up the inside stairs and showed us the room. She asked if we needed help with anything and then recommended a few places to eat in town. There is an outside entrance too and a very large balcony with chairs and tables. Our first night there we chose to eat on the balcony.

This hotel is very quiet even though there is a truck stop across the street with trucks coming and going all day long. I spoke with several other who were staying there too and they agreed it was quiet and comfortable.

My favorite was the claw footed tub and they even have it set up so you can take a shower. My only dislike were the stairs but that has nothing to do with the hotel. I had hurt my knee the previous day and the stairs weren't much fun. the parking lot is gravel so if you're on a motorcycle be careful. We didn't have any issues with it and were on bikes.

The entire town is pretty much walking distance so no need to drive anywhere.

Room Tip: Don't let the looks of the place turn you away. It is a gem of a hotel and one worth staying at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemult
17.7 mi away
Woodsman Country Lodge
Woodsman Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crescent
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Chemult
81 reviews
22.1 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dawson House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson House Lodge

Property: Dawson House Lodge
Address: 109455 Highway 97 N, P.O. Box 189, Chemult, OR 97731-9701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Chemult
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chemult
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawson House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawson House Lodge built in 1929 enjoys travelers from all over the world. Only 25 miles from Crater Lake National Park we are a popular place to stay for those visiting the park & wanting to enjoy the many outdoor wonders in our area. Hikers, fisherman and 2 & 4 wheel bikes enjoy the area in the summer while the winter attracts fisherman, hunters, snowmobiling & skiers. We are one block from the Amtrak Station in the center of town. With rooms to sleep 1-8 we have one to fit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dawson House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawson House Lodge Oregon/Chemult

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing