We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Wedding Anniversary Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clackamas
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th Wedding Anniversary Party”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Planned a 50th Wedding Anniversary Party for my parents at the Monarch on Aug. 16th. From the time I met with staff and through the entire event, my experience couldn't have been better! During the event, I had the personal cell phone number of the event director given to me for any issues. BJ was spectacular in every detail. They asked all the questions about all the details that I might not have thought of without their experience. Shyla was knowledgeable in what would work best for our needs. Everything was covered. The tables were set up beautifully, the staff was so attentive and when my projector screen didn't work, they quickly found and brought one into the event and set it up for me. They worked in making the entire affair memorable. Our guests raved about the food, they cut and served our cakes and prepared the glasses and sparkling cider for the toast. I was so pleased and will use them for my next event for sure!! I give them a 10!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Debbie -

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with the Monarch. We are happy to hear that you found the staff, especially BJ and Shyla, knowledgeable and attentive and the food wonderful.


We appreciate being a part of such a monumental occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    84
    42
    15
    15
See reviews for
56
34
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I love Portland, but don't want to spend a ton on accomodation when we are only sleeping there and mostly out enjoying all the city has to offer. I avoid downtown and some areas closer to downtown as I don't feel particularly safe in a moderately priced room. We tried a "secret discount" website with this location and got this hotel. Generally, very pleased with the value for the money we paid. Rooms were spacious and updated. Beds comfortable. TV was quite small. Only complaint about the room was the shower went hot and cold and wouldn't regulate.

We didn't experience the friendly service upon check in or check out that others commented on. The desk clerk was not at all friendly upon check in and offered no information on any amenities. Same clerk was open-mouthed yawning the next morning upon checkout at 9am. Maybe a bit of refresher training would be useful for customer service skills?

Room Tip: Ask for room away from traffic side if that's a concern. Didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffaniVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tiffani -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Monarch. We are glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and were able to enjoy your time in Portland.

I apologize for your experience with the desk clerk. I have shared your comments with the Front Desk Manager so she may work on improving their service skills.

Tiffani, thank you again for your post. I hope you will consider the Monarch on your future visits to our area!

Best regards,

Tammy Thompson
Director of Sales and Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel location good. Rooms nice. Halls and common areas run down. Wifi didn't function in room. Called and front desk staff unresponsive. Said it would need to wait until next day. Next day still not operational in room. Weak signal in hallway. Another guest told m ed they were able to connect but at dial up speed. Poor hotel responsive so service they bill as svailable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear FamilyTravels22-

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Monarch. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit and the responsiveness of the Front Desk. Your comments will be shared with the Front Office Manager so she may address these issues with her staff.

We unfortunately did experience equipment problems over the holiday weekend affecting the South side of the building. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are in the process of upgrading our system from Comcast broadband to fiber optics and expect to have that in place within a month. This upgrade should eliminate both the signal strength problems and speed.

Thank you again for your post. We hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice property kept in good condition and run by an efficient friendly staff. Clean rooms with nice furnishings. There are two items that spoiled our stay however. The old-style aerating shower heads are extremely noisy, as in you will not want to be next to a room were they are taking an early or late shower. Secondly, the wifi system is frustrating. You need to provide credentials for multiple access points, and I had difficulty getting it to work on a number of occasions.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hollyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Hollyrik -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Monarch.
We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit and found the staff friendly and efficient.

Due to some equipment failure, we did experience problems with our internet service over the Fourth of July holiday and had some delays in getting back up and running. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are in the process of upgrading our system from Comcast broadband to fiber optics and expect to have that in place within a month. This upgrade should eliminate both the problems with access point overlap and speed.

We are sure you will find our Wi-Fi much better on your next stay!

Thank you again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed @ the Monarch many times. The staff is so very friendly & know their jobs very well. My room is always quiet & I'm usually a light sleeper. Their breakfast room service omelet & ham is so plentiful & good that it keeps me fully satisfied for many hours as I start my long day. I really appreciate that room service staff always has exact change put down on the desk after service. Other hotels rarely do & I specifically tell them what denomination I'll be paying for the food. Will stay @ the Monarch again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank butterscotch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Butterscotch5 -

Thank you for posting about your experiences with the Monarch Hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stays as well as the food and service of Sam's. We will be sure to post this for the room service staff so they know how much you appreciate them!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orford, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I gave this property 5 star rating because the staff was so wonderful! Clean room , Great location, Very nice restaurant. Lovely Sunday brunch. Linens a bit worn and some wear and tear on the walls in bathrooms but overall was a very nice place. Melissa at the front desk was such a professional , knowledgable, and personally delightful . You can tell the staff likes their jobs and knows them well. The staff I spoke to were long term employees and were happy to be there. This shows great management. Great bar. Friendly bartender . I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember11132015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Motherfeatherbutt:

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience with the Monarch. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Sunday brunch in Sam's.

We are also pleased that you found Melissa, as well as our other employees, friendly and professional.

Thank you for your recommendation. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Tammy Thompson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Helder, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Due to a flight delay, we were assigned to this Hotel by the airline. We had a 24hr delay, so we could take the service of staying in the hotel...

Staff was kind, rooms and bedsheets were clean and transport to the airport was arranged perfectly. (although the high amount of guests/passengers). so we slept voor about 6 hours, and left the hotel again to continue our trip.

Next day when i was at home, i discovered these itchy, little red bumps on my arms, legs.. and rump....
The only thing i could think of was BEDBUGS.. pfff.. and i am pritty sure, i didn't had these bumps before..
So a flight delay of 24 hours and eaten by bedbugs.. blegh not a nice way to end your holiday! :-(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascalle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Pascalle –

Thank you for sharing your concern of suspected bed bugs at our property.

The Monarch Hotel takes the health and safety of our guests very seriously. For over five years, we have contracted with Orkin Pest Control, a highly reputable, nationwide company to provide quarterly, preventative treatment of our guest rooms for bed bugs. If there is a suspected issue with a room, a technician from Orkin will come out and thoroughly inspect the room. This process includes removing all of the bedding and inspecting the mattress, box spring, head board, side tables and carpet crevices.

Based on the information provided in your post, I was able to ascertain which room you were in during your stay. We did place the room out of order for inspection and no evidence of bed bugs was found.

You are welcome to contact me directly at tthompson@monarchhotel.cc if you have any questions or additional concerns.

I am sorry your holiday ended on a less than pleasant note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clackamas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Southeast/Clackamas
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Clackamas
Comfort Suites Clackamas
#5 of 8 in Clackamas
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Clackamas Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Rivershore Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Inn and Suites
Sunnyside Inn and Suites
#7 of 8 in Clackamas
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 12566 SE 93rd Ave, Clackamas, OR 97015-9760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Clackamas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clackamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monarch Hotel & Conference Center is a full service hotel located at the intersection of I-205 and Sunnyside Road. We are right across from the Clackamas Town Center and Clackamas Promenade with over 250 shops and restaurants combined. The Clackamas Town Center also features a 20 screen tiered theater and a MAX light rail station (green line). Free parking and free airport transportation. Free transportation is also available within one mile of the hotel. Sam's Restaurant and Lounge is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as Sunday Brunch. Room service is available during restaurant hours. All rooms have Serta pillowtop beds, refrigerators, hairdryers, coffee makers and full size iron & iron board. The Monarch has over 20,000 sq. ft. of flexible banquet & meeting space with full on-site and off-site catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monarch Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel Clackamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing