We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are quite picky and we love it here.”

LA Costita Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 84 Restaurants in Clackamas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We are quite picky and we love it here.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We eat here often and love the food. Like all places some ok servers and some great servers. I am not sure about the bad reviews. I am quite picky.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glbaker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent food service a little slow”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner my husband got the combo plate with 3 items. It was a pretty good deal and the food was really tasty. I got the pollo asado which seemed a little pricey for what it was.
The service was slow, we had to ask another server to send our waitress to take our order. They might have been short staffed. I will go back and give them another try cause the food was tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like this place!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Found in a strip mall flanked by an Albertson's and equally crappy Chinese Restaurant. Happy Valley is a "DEAD ZONE" for most quality food and it's a shame. I "LOVE" Mexican food and really hoped for this place to be at least DECENT. This place is the perfect definition of the words "Waste of time and space." I've been here twice: Once, because I hoped it was good. Second time cause I couldn't believe it was really as bad as the first. Lets start with the only semi-positive comment - It's kind of cute place and has nice themed decor. The food? Expensive! Horrible! Cheap, cheap, cheap! Tasteless! Salads are made with shredded bagged lettuce. Sauces tasted tinny and cheap, probably from a can. Even the basics (Taco, Enchilada and the sort) are poorly done. I had Chili Verde. OMG! One could stay home, overcook some unseasoned pork in a frying pan and pour cheap Salsa verde over the mess and you probably create a better dish. Yes, it's that bad. Margaritas are way over priced and are completely boring with the exception of the aftertaste of the cheap Tequila that they must use which leaves the taste of burnt plastic in your mouth.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“favorite Mexican in town”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

you know you eat here a lot when the staff remembers you. My wife swears by the fajitas and I always mix it up and always enjoy what I get. salsa is the best. coupons can always be found in local papers/magazines.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LanceM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better off at Taco Bell!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It is such a disappointment when a menu details something that sounds terrific and you're served a plate that looks like it was someone's leftovers. This was our second time trying La Costita and only returned because the manager comped us a free meal because our first experience was such a disaster--we put in a to-go order and literally every item we received was incorrect! This time around, we received a correct order, but sadly it tasted about as fresh as something pulled out of a garbage. Everything was cold, the fajitas has zero flavor, my daughter's taco was a soggy shell filled with one huge slice of tomato and a little shredded chicken. If you're going to put something in a menu at least try to deliver what you wrote! Safe to say, we're saying adios to La Costita!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamatoMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LA Costita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 

Been to LA Costita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing