We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Lunch Spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Restaurant and Lounge

Sam's Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Clackamas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Lunch Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Always friendly service and great food! Renate is always our waitress and takes excellent care of us. She knows what we typically like and is always ready to offer suggestions. Their lunch specials are always outstanding!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Kimberly -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Sam's Restaurant at the Monarch. We appreciate your continued patronage! Keep your eyes open for our new lunch specials coming in a couple of weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
170 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I'm asking myself why I haven't walked up at night for a cocktail at the bar, but I haven't. I have had many breakfasts at Sam's at the Monarch. Last time I went, the waitress recognized me though it had been quite a while since I'd been there. The breakfasts are, well, very good, and the service is first-rate. Sam's (and the Monarch) are a short walk from the Courtyard, where we are very regular visitors. But the Courtyard's breakfasts lack variety and are just OK. The food at Sam's is a huge improvement.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Sam's Restaurant at the Monarch Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our breakfast menu and staff and think you would enjoy the cocktails and service in our Lounge (open until 2:30am!) just as well. Plus, if you stay with us, it is even a shorter walk! :)

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sam's Restaurant, Monarch Hotel Portland, OR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Held our National Gamewardens of Vietnam Reunion at this hotel in 1998. Have been visiting on a weekly basis for the past several years with my brother for lunch once a week. Renate is a very helpful server in the Restaurant. Thank you, Renate!!!!
Larry Bissonnette

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Larry -

Thank you for your comments regarding Renate, as well as the compliment of visiting us in Sam's weekly! We appreciate your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmers Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfasts and really great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I stay at the Monarch Hotel a few times a year (we love the hotel), and always look forward to having breakfast at Sam's in the hotel. The food is always delicious, and the experience is always a happy one because the staff members are so nice. On our last visit, I was especially impressed with Amanda, who remembered us and gave us outstanding service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Cindy,

We appreciate you taking the time to write in about Sam's. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff is providing outstanding service and that our guests enjoy the experience and food in Sam's. Thank you for your continued business. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, Welcoming Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have enjoyed regular lunches at Sam's Restaurant at the Monarch for many years. The food is consistent and good, and the service is great. We love Renate - she always remembers what dishes we like, and is a pleasure to speak with. The atmosphere is relaxing - it's a quiet oasis in an otherwise not-so-quiet world. We typically have lunch here when we need a relaxing space in which to have lunch and good conversation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxyPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear RoxyPDX -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding Sam's Restaurant at the Monarch Hotel. We appreciate your business and are glad to hear how much you enjoy the atmosphere and service. We look forward to being your oasis for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 
Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 

Been to Sam's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing