We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Condon
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Arlington)
US$59
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Three Rivers Inn Biggs(Biggs Junction)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Boardman)
US$65
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Lodge and Grill(Boardman)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
104
32
3
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
32
3
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn day fossil bedscontinental breakfastcentral oregonrestored historicwine beeryogurtturn of the centuryghost townsappointed roomsrefrigeratorcouch
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, main street setting, and an incredibly accommodating proprietor; we could not have wished for a better location for photographing the stunning Eastern Oregon landscapes. Not only was the owner incredibly helpful with directions and local information (restaurant suggestions, trail maps, spots for the best vistas), he also arranged our museum visit and had two cold beers on ice waiting our return from a long day of exploring.
We had such a short time for our visit, but managed to photograph the Columbia Gorge, hike The Painted Hills, dig for our own fossils in the next town over (we found several), and eat some of the best diner food I can recall at the Little Pine Cafe.
Many thanks again for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I spent the night of my birthday at the hotel in February, part of a weekend checking historic hotels in NE Oregon. The special birthday attention was a pleasant surprise, including warm birthday wishes from Rachel, the assistant manager, and a free upgrade. But I imagine she's pleasant and helpful whether it's a birthday or not. The hotel interior itself is quite pleasing to the eye and unexpected in the remote town of Condon. It makes a great base for exploring nearby areas or just as a special night out. I was delighted with my discovery and look forward to a return visit.
Pat

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredLastSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had always been curious about the Hotel Condon having read about the history of the building and the region. We decided to have an adventure during Winter Break and made online reservations. Tha next day we headed East from Portland, stopping on the way at the new state park Cottonwood Canyon for hiking. We pulled into Condon and easily found the Hotel. Once inside we were met with very friendly staff, and a cozy and welcoming lobby. Our room was wonderful with a very comfortable bed. The sheets had a high thread count, very soft, much like sheets at home. The room was very clean. They have a wine and cheese time in the lobby every evening, a terrific way to relax after our drive. After a quiet night of sleep, we had a tasty continental breakfast here as well. Overall, we had a lovely experience at the Hotel Condon and would go back any time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wonderfully restored 18 room historic hotel - a must stay if you ever visit the area. The hotel offers old-world charm but with all the modern conveniences we all expect these days. Its location in the heart of Gilliam County, make it a perfect jumping-off point to explore the John Day River, or fossil beds.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - lots to choose from.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I had a great weekend in the small town of Condon, Oregon this week, made all the better by our warm welcome and cozy room at the Hotel Condon. Wine and cheese in the evenings encouraged guests to visit with each other, and Powell's Bookstore has a space across the street in a fun gift shop (where we bought a French crepe pan!). Rachel, who comes over from Portland regularly to help out with the front desk, made our stay so interesting--she's helpful and informative, and tells great stories! My only suggestion would be that breakfast (continental) be a tiny bit more substantial, like maybe healthy muffins. Lots of hiking, hunting and fishing to burn calories! All in all, we're looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquaBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews