We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a pass on this one” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take a pass on this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This Super 8 in Coos Bay is literally a fleabag hotel. There were fleas in my room!!! The front desk staff was cordial and competent, but could not make up for the experience in the "king single" room, which was the worst I have had. The bed nearly filled up the entire space, such that it was difficult to get to the bathroom. The bathroom light/heater made a nerve-wracking racket. The proximity of ALL rooms to 101 (the hotel is located between the east and west-traveling roads) made sleeping difficult.

Tales of a multi-million dollar renovation a couple of years ago sold me on this hotel; I hope this review saves others from being as easily placated.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyNonCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    132
    153
    97
    66
See reviews for
158
195
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stopped here for the night before getting back on the road again early the next morning so we didn't go into town.

We were pleasantly surprised with the updated decor of the room (minus the carpet which seemed to have been missed in the decorating). We had a king room and the bed seemed to take up the whole room which left little room for the luggage. Saying that the room was clean, internet was speedy and free, big television on the wall and decent continental breakfast. They could improve by putting some counter space in the bathroom as there was no shelf or counter besides the pedestal sink.

Yes the motel is between two main roads but I am a light sleeper so other than hearing some conversations as patrons walked in front of our door I heard nothing other than my hubby's snoring.

We paid about $68 for our room so it's value far exceeded what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CulinaryGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this particular Super 8 while we were driving the Pacific Coast Highway down to San Diego. We decided to spend the night here so we could head out to the Oregon Caves the next day. We arrived later in the day and check in was very painless. The room was very clean and decently sized but not huge. Breakfast was quite nice and had a very good selection as well. Everything about the hotel was good except for the location. The hotel is located in a fork between opposing lanes of a major road, and the amount of noise from the road is terrible. I'm a very light sleeper and with the trucks ripping by every 5 minutes it was a somewhat less than restful evening. It's unfortunate because the stay at this hotel was otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freerange13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

The place was clean & great price with a pet but a bit noisy because it is located between the Highways-- like just a few feet from the rooms. I wouldn't stay in Coos Bay again. The one way streets made it "tourist unfriendly"

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kareoketina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

The internet connection worked very well and the TV was good, but the bed is SOOO uncomfortable. Woke up very sore. There was also a lot of traffic noise. The room was very clean, but I don't think $80-100 is a good price. I mean, come on! It's a motel!

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter. We got a top floor room to avoid noise from other people, but had loud ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandGFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverkusen, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

It seems they have just remodeled the rooms, they look good and have new furniture, but maybe they forgot to cvhange the carpet?? The bed was very good and comfortable. They had a new flatscreen TV, microwave and fridge. Everything was very clean. Checkin guy was helpful and fast. BUT the room size is for babies or smurfs?! So small, never had a small room like this. The breakfast romms was about the same size, for the complete number of guest unacceptable small. Funny though, even the bagels were at mini size, haha. Another down is the location, the hotel is (as many others there) between a heavyly frequented 2 lane road. So expect some noise while trucks are going by. Price fot the motel though was really okay.

Room Tip: I believe all are tiny small and the street noise might me the same as well, so it does not matter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomRatingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I booked a room for my sister to stay on 09/20/11 after traveling 10 hours from Bellingham WA she got up the next morning to no hot water and the people at the front desk stating we can boil water in a microwave for you!!! My sister had to go for her first day a work looking like she had slept in her car. The hotel manger then turned around and gave us a $10.00 credit for this. WOW how nice of them!!!!!! Thanks I will galdly stay at your hotel again, NOT

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.5 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend

Property: Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Address: 1001 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Coos Bay / North Bend Hotel Coos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing