We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More to learn about myrtlewood than I'd ever known”

The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Coos Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Central Utah
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“More to learn about myrtlewood than I'd ever known”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The front of the shop appears nearly typically retail, with various pieces from the whimsical to practical for the kitchen. Around the corner, a fudge shop (free samples to help you decide you can't live without it), a brief video about the factory and myrtlewood, and then a short self-guided tour of the factory (wood working areas) that leads back to the retail part of the building. When we were there, we watched one fellow for a few minutes working a piece of wood, but didn't see much other activity. Still, we enjoyed looking around at the tools and exhibits and especially looking at the finished pieces in the retail shop. Lovely wood!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brightpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Many treasures”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I visit the House of Myrtlewood every time I'm in the area and always find a new treasure. This time was no exception.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely souvenirs”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Though I live in the area, I always make at least one trip a year to this shop. All their myrtlewood items make wonderful gifts. The prices can be a bit steep, but for anyone who has worked with hardwood and tried to fashion something out of it knows, the prices are fair. And the Star of Hope workers are all very helpful and hard-working. Check it out, I'm sure you'll find something you just have to have!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Loloofthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsport
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of Myrtlewood”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

They have jellies and jams, clothing as well as nice myrtlewood pieces.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pop-upPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquille, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Handsome, unique gifts”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This shop just off busy 101 is home to a vast assortment of unique myrtle wood gifts, from golf putters to salad bowls to cheese boards, clocks and art carvings. They also have delicious fudge and ice cream for sale and will beautifully gift wrap any purchases. I have visited a number of myrtlewood gift shops along the coast and this is my favorite. Everything is beautifully displayed and there are unusual items apart from the typical offerings.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dandysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
 

Been to The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing