We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very glad we Stopped!”

The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Coos Bay
Attraction details
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very glad we Stopped!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I like myrtlewood, and enjoy seeing beautifuly crafted wood pieces, and when I read reviews and saw that they had more than just myrtlewood, we put it on our itenerary. We were all impressed with the size of the place, and variety of products this unique shop offers. There is a fairly large retail section, with a couple rooms devoted to the wood products, and a large area offering clothes, beautiful jewery, purses, scarves etc., as well as fudge. Then there is a walk-thru, self-guided tour of the factory, begining with an educational video explaining the process the wood goes through to create the finished items- complete with u-serve pocorn! After watching the movie, you enter the work rooms- several small rooms each with a different purpose. There were several men busy crafting the wood, some took the time to speak with us, while others were obviously occupied and paid us no mind as we observed them at work and passed through. The tour only takes a few minutes and puts you out in the myrtlewood section of the store. They even sell unfinished pieces in various formats (bowls etc.) for people to take home to paint, or decorate and finish as they wish. We spent over an hour total and really enjoyed learning and shoppping the beautiful pieces. A reccommended stop if you're in Coos Bay!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Makelifefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,611 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,302 helpful votes
“Hardest wood on the west coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

If you wish to see the craftsmen working on the hardest wood on the west coast you have to go Monday-Thursday. There is a short 10 minutes video describing the process from tree to final product. There is a gift store and you can sample the fudge. Northern CA, southern OR and the Holy land are the only areas where these trees grow. The are easy to carve and have a range of beautiful colors. Before you complain about the prices, watch the craftsmen working and realize how long it takes to make a bowl, fork or other piece. I noticed the professional RV caravan tour companies all list the Oregon Connection as one of the prime stops when they visit Coos Bay. So, I figured they must know what they are doing. Stop and see craftsmen at work and try some fudge, bet you can't eat just one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique, beautiful myrtlewood items”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Christmas shopping almost complete! Many wonderful myrtlewood items available, useful, fun, and decorative. Well made will bring beauty for years.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bingleysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Unique offering of wood objects (ranging from a few dollars to a full business desk at $2500) in a pleasant surrounding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Utah
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More to learn about myrtlewood than I'd ever known”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The front of the shop appears nearly typically retail, with various pieces from the whimsical to practical for the kitchen. Around the corner, a fudge shop (free samples to help you decide you can't live without it), a brief video about the factory and myrtlewood, and then a short self-guided tour of the factory (wood working areas) that leads back to the retail part of the building. When we were there, we watched one fellow for a few minutes working a piece of wood, but didn't see much other activity. Still, we enjoyed looking around at the tools and exhibits and especially looking at the finished pieces in the retail shop. Lovely wood!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brightpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing