We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORTHWHILE AND EDUCATIONAL!”

The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Coos Bay
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“WORTHWHILE AND EDUCATIONAL!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Even though this attraction is a business, the owners have incorporated an interesting and informative program to introduce the public to the wonders of myrtle wood. Before this wood is harvested/cut, the tree has to be one hundred years old. This is one of the many reasons why myrtle wood is so costly. After the video, we follow numbered station to station process of how items are produced at this facility. In fact, when we visited, two craftsmen were working on the lathes. After the self-guided tour, you pass through the wondrous show room of items for sale. The pieces are breathtaking in quality, and also, in price! Still, a fascinating experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A nice store/factory and you can take a tour through an see things being made. They have lovely myrtle wood pieces for sale, some are very pricey but its a very rare, slow growing tree so resources are limited. Beautiful art pieces, functional pieces, and worth the stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashcroft, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to see and shop”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very impressed with their workmanship of what they can do with myrtlewood. Many unique items in the store which is attached to the factory. Glad we stopped and will certainly stop again when we drive the Oregon Coast. From top to bottom this coastline is spectacular to see and is very different from the Atlantic Coast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 21226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very glad we Stopped!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I like myrtlewood, and enjoy seeing beautifuly crafted wood pieces, and when I read reviews and saw that they had more than just myrtlewood, we put it on our itenerary. We were all impressed with the size of the place, and variety of products this unique shop offers. There is a fairly large retail section, with a couple rooms devoted to the wood products, and a large area offering clothes, beautiful jewery, purses, scarves etc., as well as fudge. Then there is a walk-thru, self-guided tour of the factory, begining with an educational video explaining the process the wood goes through to create the finished items- complete with u-serve pocorn! After watching the movie, you enter the work rooms- several small rooms each with a different purpose. There were several men busy crafting the wood, some took the time to speak with us, while others were obviously occupied and paid us no mind as we observed them at work and passed through. The tour only takes a few minutes and puts you out in the myrtlewood section of the store. They even sell unfinished pieces in various formats (bowls etc.) for people to take home to paint, or decorate and finish as they wish. We spent over an hour total and really enjoyed learning and shoppping the beautiful pieces. A reccommended stop if you're in Coos Bay!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Makelifefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,620 reviews
1,090 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“Hardest wood on the west coast”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

If you wish to see the craftsmen working on the hardest wood on the west coast you have to go Monday-Thursday. There is a short 10 minutes video describing the process from tree to final product. There is a gift store and you can sample the fudge. Northern CA, southern OR and the Holy land are the only areas where these trees grow. The are easy to carve and have a range of beautiful colors. Before you complain about the prices, watch the craftsmen working and realize how long it takes to make a bowl, fork or other piece. I noticed the professional RV caravan tour companies all list the Oregon Connection as one of the prime stops when they visit Coos Bay. So, I figured they must know what they are doing. Stop and see craftsmen at work and try some fudge, bet you can't eat just one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood also viewed

 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Oregon Connection/ House of Myrtlewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing