We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay with poor service.”
Review of Coach House

Coach House
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Coos Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is far & away the BEST food in Coos Bay! Off the beaten path, but worth looking for. Grilled, Fresh, Friendly, and always EXCELLENT food. Local's favorite!
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just okay with poor service.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

As a local resident this place has changed over the past few years We had not been for two years as the last experience was horrible with the owner being rude & we had reservations. We decided to try one more time. Never again.The service has not changed very poor. Busy or not you tend to your customers even if just acknowledge them. We could not get more drinks.They seem to be cutting corners. The bread & salads have changed. There tempura vegetables that was always the best was skimpy & smaller. Prime Rib, I've sure had better. It is very sad as our area has so few choices for good dinning. Our family will never return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegnome70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No, thanks”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

On a recent trip to the Coos Bay area, my husband and I visited the Coach House after reading the rave reviews. Unfortunately, our experience was not positive. We ordered the appetizer, BBQ clams and a rib-eye for the main course. The appetizer was delivered with the main course, and was horrible - tough and chewy, leading us to believe that it had been forgotten, and rewarmed to serve. The steak was substandard and low quality.
Had we had an opportunity to tell someone, we would have. However, it appeared that the restaurant was short staffed, and the staff who were working were too busy helping patrons sitting outside. We waited, and waited, and waited for someone to come back to our table, and finally when we flagged someone down, we asked for our check. That was brought to us very quickly, and we left. It was an expensive experience, and one we will not be repeated on our return trip to the Coos Bay area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJoyLife50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is the place to eat!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to eat!! I had the mesquite chicken & twice baked potato. My sister inlaw had the prime rib. All were fabulous!! Service was great and so was the atmosphere. Wish you guys were in California :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romanticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and good outside seating”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The owners are very sweet and they have a great place going for them. The food is really good and they have a great menu to satisfy everyone. The food may seem pricey but it is well worth what you pay for. Portions are big and food is tasty. But i do suggest making reservations because it is always packed. I love dinning outside in the covered patio. Some of the waitresses are nice and some are not so nice. That is the only downfall.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommyofone2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place had gone down hill. Not what is use to be”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife and I use to love going to the Coach House a couple years ago. Over the last 3 years this place has really gone down hill. We recently went here a couple months ago only because we have a gift certificate. This last visit reminded us why we don't go here anymore. My wife ordered the chicken strips with fries. The waitress brought the chicken strips and said the fries would be out in a moment. 15 minutes later they finally came. The chicken strips were bland. She took one bite and wouldn't touch the rest. I am not a picky eater and I even tried one and they were disgusting. No flavor at all. The bread they bring out is not even toasted. It has no flavor and they bring you rock hard butter that doesn't even spread out on the bread. If you do go here make sure to request to sit outside as the inside is loud and VERY cramped. This place use to be one of the nicest restaurants in town but it has lost it's touch. Seems like they dont care about flavoring food any more nor quality of the food they serve to their customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach House also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing