We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice balcony and big room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Guelph
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice balcony and big room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had everything we needed... fridge, wifi, coffee and a balcony with chairs. There is a good super market beside it so we were able to shop for food. The weather was too cool and damp to sit outside which was too bad because the balcony is very private. The hotel is a little rough around the edges as far as carpets and finishings go but we felt that we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: You will save by getting a room that is not facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBN_Guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    69
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
51
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel needs a major face lift. Our room smelled like a nursing home. The purple carpet was filthy and everything else in the room (including the pink recliner) looked like it was purchased from a garage sale....The women at the front desk were unfriendly and down right rude for no apparent reason (2 different women, same attitude...is being curt and grumpy a requirement for working here??). The "breakfast" was scant, and the lady at the desk scoffed at us after asking if we needed her to make another pot of coffee. Based on our experience, we think the cost for staying here should be in the $70 a night range for, not over $120 for a standard room. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It is hard to separate an evaluation of this hotel from one's response to its location, Coos Bay, OR. Be aware that Coos Bay looks and feels like an industrial wasteland; this particular hotel is in the heart of it all. Although a few higher-priced rooms might look out upon a strip of picturesque waterscape, you are more likely to get a room overlooking the RV park or the Fred Meyer or Safeway parking lot. Very unfriendly to pedestrians, let alone to a scenic waterside walk. Some positives: our second-floor room was clean and large, the TV and wireless were good, two-tiered bathroom. The hotel seemed populated by locals who seemed pleased with it; it probably is a good staging-area if you have a specific vacation activity to pursue in the nearby area. If you are looking for somewhere to enjoy the natural beauty of the Oregon coast, however, this is not your place. This was the low point of our trip.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid first-floor rooms facing parking lots because there was a lot of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRR2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Edgewater Inn and it is consistently WONDERFUL! We came through Coos Bay again on our annual motorcycle ride up the coast and they allowed us to check in a little early to start our laundry. AWESOME staff! GREAT rooms... always clean and the property is conveniently located near a grocery store and the local Harley Davidson dealership.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Edgewater Inn in CoosBay, Oregon & had a wonderful time. The staff was wonderful, the indoor pool & jacuzzi was always clean & a perfect temperature. We used Coos Bay as our headquarters for exploring the Oregon coast. The staff had many tips on travel and restaurants. Plus, it is dog friendly and we had our 2 dogs along. Overall we had an exceptionally wonderful visit!!

Room Tip: First floor worked great for getting the dogs in & out quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

not charming, located at the back of a mall parking lot. However, the rooms are really large, super clean, and so quiet. We enjoyed a relaxed night and were pleased with the morning view over the water. Breakfast (included) was convenient and there s the safeway across the parking lot if you miss your favorite yoghourt or look for your starbuck special.
Staff really friendly, evening and morning

Room Tip: no issues regarding the room locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is an older motel with not many updates. However, the guest rooms are HUGE and very clean. Our room had two vanities also, one inside and one outside of the bathroom. There was also a nice rocker recliner that helped put our baby to sleep. The pool and hot tub area are also very nice at this hotel/motel and there is a small fitness area as well.

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The only negative was the continental breakfast, it was frosted donuts, yogurts, granola bars and apples and bananas, I guess we have been getting spoiled with so many hotels offering hot breakfast buffets now. There are two parts of the hotel, one with outside entrances and one with inside only entrances, if you have a preference I would suggest requesting what you want in advance.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms, some with outside entrances (ala motel) and some with inside entrances (ala hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56LisaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
21.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420-1466
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing