We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Holiday Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I love the staff, and the hotel is very clean and the AC/heat works ok. No elevator, but there is a ramp. This is a 1970's style, western budget hotel. Think Motel 6. Tiny room opening onto the parking lot. Original shower bath. Bath virtually opens onto the hall, so lock the door for privacy. Tiny sink/counter next to the door. Breakfast was just ok - no bacon, but really odd sausages, but standard waffle maker and some fruit. I did not see anything better in town, and all of the Harley Davidson crowd and pick up drivers were perfectly behaved.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle have less road noise. Go upstairs unless you like offering a view to everyone w...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Holiday Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Did I mention that the hot water for tea had the most bitter taste? I brought a cup of hot water back with me for breakfast, in my room, and before adding the tea bag, I tasted the water. I had to spit it out. It tasted bitter and weird. The sausages were ice cold in the middle, and smelled like dog food. The carpet smelled like dog pooh, and the odor smelled like stale cigs. The bed was like slipping into a bed of quick sand. Once you get in, you can't get out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Livin'in'America!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was average in appearance but was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was fine. It is a good fit for those traveling through the Oregon/Washington route. It is located in the middle of restaurants and wharf.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tbmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband had traveled almost 12 hours on our motorcycles that day we arrived in Coos Bay about 8 pm. We checked in, had a awesome room, we ordered pizza and just relaxed, The room was big and very clean, Had everything you could need.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was nice. room 280
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bclady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent just one night (a Friday) at this Best Western in Coos Bay. It was fine, very ordinary, room was clean enough. The Internet WiFi was pretty slow, but otherwise it worked. Breakfast was fine. It is located in an unfortunate area of Coos Bay that is heavily industrial, so the atmosphere is not great. But for just one night, it worked for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We would defenately recommend that hotel and stay there again during our stay at Oregon Coast. It looks like a motel but has all the facilities and comfort you need for the very good stay. The room was very nice, comfortable, nicely decorated. Beds were very comfortable. Even though some reviews say that this hotel is noisy we didn't have any issues with it. Ask for the room in the middle of the hotel, it is away from the streets and quiet. Compared to other hotels we have stayed in Oregon, free WiFi was very good and fast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the hotel are away from the surrounding streets and probably more quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hedi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed in two different Best Westerns on consecutive nights, and I swear I will never stay in another one. The Best Western in Coos Bay was the straw that broke the camel's back. (The first was the Best Western in Rogue - reviewed separately). Both best Westerns were dated and worn, and each room smelled terrible. When you check into a hotel, you should not have to worry about and spend time with the little things. But with Best Western, you could spend your evening fixing problems. With the Coos Bay Best Western, we had to re-aim the IR repeater on the TV because they had it aimed at the ceiling instead of at the user. They had no wi-fi in the room as advertised - it was only available in the middle of the parking lot. When my wife went to take a bath, there was no drain plug for the tub. The Close Captioning on the TV (I am deaf) had been disabled by the hotel management and could only be activated by the desk clerk who had to come to the room to do that. I could go on with more "little" things, but the point is that I wore a path in the pavement between the office and the room to get resolution to all these things. I should point out that the desk clerks were very pleasant and helpful, but requests to fix these issues kept them hopping.

The next night, we stayed at a non-Best Western hotel, and it was so pleasant to just walk in and find that everything worked. I swear by the hotel gods that I will never stay in another Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 034632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
593 reviews
21.9 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
21.2 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
179 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Holiday Hotel

Address: 411 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-2311 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range: £88 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Holiday Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Holiday Motel provides a retreat for exploring the Oregon Coast and Dunes, lighthouses, historic sites, art museums and many different festivals and events. We are across the street from the waterfront and the City of Coos Bay Boardwalk. Our location is within easy walking distance of from shopping and restaurants with antique and gift shops, theatres and museums and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Hotel Coos Bay
Best Western Coos Bay
Coos Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing