We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont stay here”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

No AC room dirty breakfast was not good. don't waste your money. The room was old needs to be updated. no help from staff for any of this. Over priced for the kind of place that it is. Church on Sunday morning they let use the place is very loud. They charge for a roll away bed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave97477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    199
    131
    73
    36
See reviews for
149
192
31
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

It's an old hotel, and the room has some musty smell, but not too bad if you keep a window open. Nothing else special, but it has a comfortable bed, and has good maid and front-desk service.
Also, it is a 15-20 minute drive to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The people were very nice, there was (some) hot water, and the bed was mostly clean. Those are the only positives. The non-smoking rooms smelled like smoke and were musty, the floors were dirty, the TV didn't work, and we were overall very disappointed in our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleybiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

While the exterior of this hotel is somewhat dated, our room was very clean, updated, and nicely decorated, meeting our expectations for a 3 star hotel. The price was a little high but comparable to other 2 and 3 star chains in the area for the weekend we stayed (we also booked online the night before so probably could have gotten a better deal had we booked earlier).

The hotel was easy to find, right off Hwy 101, and our room was quiet (no street or other noise) and the temperature well regulated. The property allows pets so we were able to bring our two dogs (no charge on our reservation). There is a grass area near the pool for pets. There didn't seem to be an elevator, so stairs required for second floor stay. Room included a small fridge and microwave, plus standard amenities. Free Wifi for smartphone was available.

Breakfast was included in our reservation, though at check-in we were told it was $4.95 each. I went back later to ask and the staff checked our reservation and confirmed that breakfast was indeed included for 2 adults, so no problem there, I just had to ask. The breakfast system is a little confusing, however, since all guests attending breakfast (standard continental with eggs, meat, and potato buffet) were presented with a bill. You simply had to write your room number (if reservation included breakfast) and it was taken care of. The bill seemed to make some guests uncomfortable though (we overheard).

All in all, a very decent stay and we would definitely choose this hotel again if staying in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room at back of property away from highway (first floor if you don't like stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen32W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel room was more than I was expecting, big and spacious. I read all the reviews and I almost didn't choose the Red Lion, I am so glad I did. The ladies at the front desk were super nice, check in was quick and easy. The beds were comfortable and unlike most hotels/motels I couldn't hear the people in the next room. The pool area is clean, which was also a plus for the kids. We are most definitely going to return. Definitely happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This used to be the premier accommodation in Coos Bay, but it has fallen on hard times since the construction of the much nicer Mill Casino up the road. Single-pane windows, proximity to the highway, and a truck whose refrigerator motor was allowed to run all night in the middle of the parking lot made for a noisy night at the Red Lion. Staff seemed rather indifferent to guest's concerns, though they were polite. My room was clean and looked as if it had been updated, but this still isn't much of a step above Motel 6 these days.

Room Tip: Get as far back from the highway as possible to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My stay started off with 3 room changes in 1 week. Inadequate ac meant 3 hot rooms. Toilet above leaking on my toilet. Said i had to move to fix but someone was in the room the very next day. No help provided to move a months worth of stuff as promised. Over 100 motorcyclists on a Sat morning started arriving before 8am for a St Jude poker run w/o warning. Poor sound barrier between floors so pick a top floor so you can be the stomper instead of the stompee. Cleaning staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but did a poor job. Long hairs in tub in 1st room and dirt and pubic hair in 2nd room. I was actually told some of the girls dont always vacuum! Mold in bathroom on soap holder and curtains in bedroom. Curtains have to be open or arranged so ac goes into room and not behind the curtain. I had to have 2 fans and ac on constantly w/o much success at comfort. I had my room key deactivated several times which was very inconvenient. Oh and I almost forgot- pool noise if youre by the pool is to be expected but not the sound of people climbing the fence after hours to sneak in and out after hours. Restaurant- inconsistent overpriced and alcohol on menu doesnt exist. The waitress was friendly. Any complaints I made or witnessed by others were greeted with blank stares and monotone sorry's without solutions. The entire month I had to be there NOT once did I ever speak to or have my issues resolved or even apologized for by the manager. I would expect the room and service to be better for the price. If they charged $50. It would be
More appropriate. They need to reimburse my company 1/2 their money in my opinion. They need to get their act together. They need to fix the problems and could actually have a decent place. They have to have Someone there who cares can make changes and it could become a decent hotel! Until then, i wont be staying there again...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cms2761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment849, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and cleanliness we apologize that we fell short. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our commitment to our property will continue this winter and threw next year with updates to the restaurant, rooms and public space. I being the new Manager to the property have been on and off property for the last few weeks and would like to speak further with you if you could reach out to the hotel and give us contact information I would be happy to discuss your stay in more detail.
Best Regards,
Bob P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
4.4 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
22.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
21.5 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Address: 1313 N Bayshore Dr, Coos Bay, OR 97420-3197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly on Highway 101, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay Oregon is the Bay Area's premier full-service hotel. Just six blocks north of Coos Bay City Center and 10 minutes from the airport via our complimentary hotel transportation, you'll find that ocean beaches, fishing charters, whale watching and shopping are all just minutes away.Our 144 spacious non-smoking guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect and more, including complimentary wi-fi, Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop bedding,digital satellite TV and complimentary HBO. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub or work away your stress in our fitness room. We can also help you find where to charter a fishing boat, play golf, go bowling or find the best beaches to walk on, and of course, your pets are welcome. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 6 and younger eat free with each adult. Our Brickstones Restaurant features Steaks, Chicken, and Seafood unique to the Pacific Northwest. With over 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay is also able to accommodate your next conference or special occasion for up to 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Coos Bay
Coos Bay Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing