We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be an Art theater, underfunded”
Review of Darkside Cinema

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Darkside Cinema
Ranked #1 of 3 Fun & Games in Corvallis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trying to be an Art theater, underfunded”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

They've got some interesting movie selections but the theaters are, I'll say, the cheap seats. And I mean cheap as in $5 chairs. With wires hanging around, posts in middle of room, cheap curtains. I admire them for their frugality and cheap eats, but people go to theaters to get a big screen experience. This is small screen, negative ambience. The movies aren't good enough to overcome that. Someone with some bucks ought to adopt this place and fix it up out of passion for movies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Decosphere2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Usually Usa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theater with a great vibe”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I check out what's playing at the Darkside every time I'm in Corvallis, and there's always something good. Staff and clientele are friendly and know their films.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mom_of_3UsuallyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Movie Theater in Corvallis”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Relax sit back and enjoy a movie with friends in family in a intimate classic theater not a big box. Best selection of movies in Corvallis.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aluap_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“THE place for indy films”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you want to see indy films or to catch something that you wouldn't see at the multiplex... this is the place. It continues to be funky... as are many indy film houses in smaller markets. Great place to see something unique.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So cool”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This little theater was SO cool! I had no idea what to expect when heading there to see a Friday night movie with the family. Really neat and unique spot, like no place I've been before. The overall feel of the place is very comfortable, and holy smokes is it inexpensive! The theater itself feels like you're in a living room with friends, enjoying a great new movie. Definitely recommend stopping in for a movie while you're in town!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellsween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darkside Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Darkside Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing