We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing campus”

Oregon State University
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Corvallis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ducka62
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing campus”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We planned a trip to 2 colleges in Oregon for the grand daughter. We had an amazing time and enjoyed all that OSU has to offer. The tour guides we had were very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a great choice to check out the school.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ducka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    44
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New engineering building”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I visited the engineering building and it seems to be a new one (<10yrs). It has a very good design with very well equipped labs.
I visited the city in a football game between OSU team and other team, and the city was very crowded, all streets around the university are fully parked.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moh_Samir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty Campus, Nothing Else”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I visited a friend who attends OSU, and she gave me a tour of the campus. It was very pretty, and some of the buildings had beautiful architecture. It was very spread out to me, walking over the whole campus took a bit of time, and if you have trouble walking long distances you may not be able to cover the whole distance unless you drive in between. It features a lot of parks and open grassy spaces in between departments and around campus.

They offer tours, though they are generally geared at perspective students. But they do cover the highlights of the campus.

However, if you don't know someone that is connected to the school, I don't think the campus holds much appeal. If you are there for a sporting event, or some other special event, the campus is worth walking around a bit and checking out. Otherwise, don't go out of your way to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great "little" University”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

OSU (Oregon, not Ohio or Oklahoma) is one of those under-rated jewels of a campus, but that is one of its attractions. Univ. of Oregon may be bigger, more sprawly, and with (mostly) better sport teams because of all that Nike money, but OSU is warmer, friendlier, and offers lots of cultural, artistic, intellectual and sporting attractions to residents and visitors, alike. Plus, even without lots of money lately it produces national and PAC-12 champions in sports like baseball,and gymnastics. Beaver fans are passionate about their teams and campus - for very good reasons: it's just a great university!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seafood_Eatsame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klickitat, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Should have been a Beaver!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Okay, actually I was and still am. Have multiple degrees from OSU. Proud alumni - judge it by more than its athletic teams (which are very good) - great academics, traditions, serious place to have fun. Got concurrent BS/BS back in 1976, couldn't find a better program so when time to go back for my MS I did so at OSU. Go Beavs!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimScubaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oregon State University also viewed

 

Been to Oregon State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing