We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Diner with Yummy Pies”

Shari's Cafe & Pies
Ranked #152 of 213 Restaurants in Corvallis
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simple Diner with Yummy Pies”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

While visiting a friend at OSU, we stopped here for dinner. I'd never heard of Shari's, but she explained it as similar to Denny's, but a little bit better. This was a very accurate description.

The food was good, not phenomenal, but nothing to complain about. It's a diner. If you expect something fancy, then you should go elsewhere. But I found the service to be nice and prompt, especially given how busy the restaurant was. It was a relaxed environment that was nice to just sit, eat, and talk. After having driven down from Portland, it was a perfect stop.

They have some pretty great pies! The Oregon Marionberry was particularly good. They also offer this ingenious idea of putting a slice of pie in a blender and making a milkshake of sorts. It was delicious, and incredibly unique.

If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stop, to sit with friends or family and just relax and eat, or just some great pie, I'd stop here. It's not fancy, but it is simple and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lousy Lunch!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Used to love Shari's, especially great breakfast! What happened? I ordered a salad with dressing on the side. When it was served (after 30 minutes) there was a layer of dry greens on top & underneath a salad soaked in Caesar dressing, AND a dressing on the side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

After having dinner at Sharis, I was suffering seriously from upset stomach for almost two days. Beside this, the food was also not very tasty. Avoid if you can.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ml1981x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sticky table and poor service and ho-hum food”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I went to this particular Shari's when it first opened and haven't been back. First, our table was sticky with jam or jelly left over from a previous occupant. Second, our service was about as bad as I've ever had anywhere. We might as well have been invisible. The food was typical for a family restaurant of this type, too heavily sauced and under seasoned. There are other better options available in this city.

Helpful?
1 Thank mcnicolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis. Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK but getting better”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Shari's is finally getting more items than your typical fried foods.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank senafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shari's Cafe & Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing