We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mold in bathroom. Unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mold in bathroom. Unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Spend your money elsewhere. Room 104 smelled bad when we walked thru the door. Mold on the ceiling. Prices are way too high for this worn down establishment. Service was less than stellar. I will never stay at another best western in my life time. I should have slept in my car.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rentalrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I will deffinatley look into the issues that you have brought to my attention. We vaule all of our guests and want you to have an excellent experience with us. I am truely sorry you were disappointed. Please if you have anything else you would like to point out about your stay don't hesitate to give me a call. Once again thank you for your point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    105
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
115
88
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at the BW Cottage Grove Inn on a long trip, returning from Mexico to Canada. It was relatively easy to find off the Interstate 5 which helped as it was already dark by the time we arrived. Room was quiet and comfortable and of course really clean. It was great to have a decent sleep after so many hours driving. We had a restaurant recommended to us from the front desk (Stacy's) - a really good meal. We will definitely stop at Cottage Grove on our next drive south.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DALE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post on trip advisor. We look foward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was a very nice place to spend the night.

The hotel is obviously not brand-new, but that's ok. It could stand some very minor updating that I'm not going into. What is generally needed is pretty minor.

With one exception.

The toilet in our room could barely flush toilet paper. I can readily imagine what might happen if someone had---oh say---too much cheese for dinner. I can't say how the facilities are in other rooms, but I see no reason to think they are any better. The lack of water and water pressure in the can is a direct result of the "green" movement in hotels currently.

Now, on to other things.

For me, the pillows are much too hard and thick. In most places we've stayed, if there were more than 2 pillows, you had a selection of styles. Not here. All 8 pillows in this room were identical. And I thought they were lousy. But that's just me. My wife liked them just fine.

The hotel is clean and quiet. The heater in the room was quiet, efficient, and didn't smell funky. The staff was top-notch. The breakfast was very good.

It's a good hotel, but about 10-15% overpriced. If we happen to stay in Cottage Grove again, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shop99er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We really apperciate hearing what is good and what our guest feel that would make their stay more comfortable. We do hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in our area. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We reserved a 1 queen on the BW website; we hoped for a little more elbow room than we'd get in a 2 queen. Alas, this 1 queen was built around the stairwell!

Nice place, just don't stay by the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We apperciate your feed back. We do try to make our geust as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

On our way from California to Seattle WA, on July 27, with our two grandkids, we decided to stay one night at Best Western Cottage Grove hotel in Oregon. The room were clean and the front desk was excellent. The continental breakfast was fantastic. We were so happy, that we make reservation to stay at the same hotel on our way back from Seattle.
Also there is a nice family restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for posting your experience with us on trip advisor. We do apperciate the generous comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look foward to having you as our guest again. Thank You!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I work in the hotel industry as a marketing coordinator and my boyfriend and I went to Cottage Grove for the night to visit some friends since he used live there. The gentleman that greeted us was very friendly, we had a coupon for another hotel mistakenly thinking it was this one and the gentleman seemed very willing to accommodate us as we were willing to pay more but asked a 2nd lady there who came out for either for approval or opinion and she was not friendly nor willing to take a break of t their rack rate. In my experience when you have an empty hotel parking lot and coming into off season you do what you can to accommodate and keep people happy. It just gave me a bad vibe probably won't ever visit this hotel again, very bad representation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry that you didn't receive excellent costumer services. I will use your feed back to help improve my staff. Thank you!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is our 2nd stay here at Best Western/Cottage Grove a small hotel right off I-5 in a populated area. We had 2 rooms adjoined. Rooms are small, with a refrigerator, microwave, and nice large flat screen tv. There is a new feel about our rooms and the layout is nice with a comfy chair with foot stool, and desk with leather type chair and desk table. Definitely clean and nice. Bed is comfortable. There is also a small pool which is thankfully warm (never understood why some pools are cold), a hot tub, and a little exercise room with treadmill, elliptical, and bike along with a tv. For breakfast (free) I saw premade scrambled eggs, hot sausage, hot biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereals, bagels, breads, drinks, and such. Numerous fast food restaurants within walking distance. Good bang for the buck.

Room Tip: 2 floors. parking lot is right outside both front and back door. no bad rooms as far as i could te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgettravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottage Grove
0.3 mi away
Village Green Resort
Village Green Resort
#2 of 4 in Cottage Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Cottage Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Creswell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
16.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
18.3 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1601 Gateway Boulevard, Cottage Grove, OR 97424-1294 (Formerly The Cottage Grove Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Cottage Grove Inn in Cottage Grove. We are conveniently located in the Willamette Valley 30 miles south of Eugene just off I-5 at exit 174. We offer a free Continental Breakfast, an indoor pool, spa, fitness center, free local calls, free Internet, and a business center. Included in our breakfast is our biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon, eggs, fruit, juices, waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and a variety of breads and cereal. Our wireless Internet is throughout our whole hotel. Our staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the Cottage Grove area. Coming to a Ducks game or to see the Covered Bridges, just driving through on business, or to relax at Dorena or Cottage Grove Lake? We have maps to help you find your way. Our staff looks forward to meeting you and hopes that you can relax and get ready for the next day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cottage Grove Hotel Cottage Grove
Holiday Inn Cottage Grove
Cottage Grove Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN Cottage Grove Inn Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing