We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Ice Storm in 40 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Green Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were so thankful for the easy access off the highway when the road started freezing. Room was warm and comfy. Despite the power outage and no cable, the staff was so helpful and attentive. Wi-Fi sucked or I would give them a higher rating. Great food in the restaurant! Clean rooms with quality beds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyPackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Location, room size, cleanliness were all good. Continental breakfast was very good. Thought it was a bit pricey. Believe we were charged $15 for our dog. Even though the place had minimum occupancy, we were placed next to another room because of limited dog-friendly rooms. Noise from the other room was somewhat of a problem, although the other folks were also seniors and turned in early.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreggP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I wanted to personally thank the management and staff at the Village Green for giving a hugely reduced room rate for the second year in a row to our guest speaker from the Africa Bridge nonprofit organization. Not having to pay for a room out of our 7th grade fundraising efforts saved us lots of money and now it can be sent to our schools project in Tanzania. Thank you, Village Green's Jake Aura, for your kindness. Our speaker and his wife had a very comfortable stay again this year. Giving from the heart makes Cottage Grove a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

An unbelievable TravelZoo discount ($139 for two nights, one BIG dinner, two BIG continental breakfasts, cozy gas fireplace, two comfy Queen beds, private fenced in patio) drew us and the wonderful staff, comfortable chairs & sofas in inviting lobby with fireplace, great restaurant and beautiful surroundings make us want to return. Plenty to do in this area: two lakes for driving and hiking, a compact historic downtown, and wineries galore. Our room 911 was an upgrade from $129 and well worth it. Very minimal highway/freeway noise. Don't expect this kind of offer in the busy season, but do keep your eyes on TravelZoo emails!

Room Tip: Do spring for a deluxe room with gas fireplace. Our Room 911 in January had no guests on either sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0adTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We got off the freeway and followed the GPS directions. We went past the sign for the property because it pointed LEFT. We turned around and drove by it. We turned around and stopped, looked at the sign again as it was saying it was LEFT. Found a driveway a bit further on the RIGHT. Here it is!! We drove up to the area for check-in. CREEPY we thought. There were no lights on outside at all. Not a ONE. There were a couple of people inside the cozy looking lobby. We parked the car and went inside. A very nice desk clerk greeted us. All of our goodies were there waiting as we bought a GROUPON deal. When we left to go to our car the lights had come on. Totally different feel.
We stayed in a KING bed room in the 900 building. Remodeled. Nice appointed. Fireplace. Nice furnishings. Clean carpet. Clean bathroom. Nice shower. The TV, well, someone forgot to upgrade it as it was still a TUBE TV. The restaurant onsite was very nice, The service was great. The food quite tasty. The breakfast, well, it's included. We enjoyed it. Many choices to make. I will not write about the beds as I have been told by other properties that I'm overly fussy about the firmness of mattresses. It was a very nice trip and a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are retro and some have been brought into the century. The retro rooms are still v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flxible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

As I browsed Moonstone's website for the Village Green I noticed that the description for a standard king room says "Signature Moonstone mattress" and "Triple sheeting." In the reservations/booking process (which you'll see if you click "Book a room or check availability") the photo shown of the standard king prominently features a new-looking bed with triple sheeting. Great: booked.

When we arrived we were given a room in the 200 building with an old, sunken-in mattress and old floral bedspread. No triple sheeting and no signature mattress. We went back to the desk thinking this was a mistake (the pet-friendly rooms have older beds), but apparently this room (in the 200 building) is considered to be of the same type as the new-mattress, triple-sheet "standard" rooms described on the website! They were out of rooms that actually resembled what we booked (the clerk told us that deluxe rooms all have the triple sheeting, but couldn't seem to assure us that standard rooms do also - this is obviously a problem they encounter regularly), so we were offered a queen/double room that had no private patio and was in a much less 'nice' part of the property (a pretty obvious downgrade). For me, the most important part of a hotel room is a clean bed and quality mattress, so that's the choice we made. The clerk discounted the room a tiny amount - front desk staff isn't authorized to do any more.

I was disappointed that the room we would have had was in no way like the room described and shown on the website. This is fraud, pure and simple.

The room we did stay in (300 building) had its share of issues, but I don't know what better to expect from Cottage Grove or from this obviously historic property. The carpet and paint were new and the furniture was funky yet practical, clean and mostly new. The bathroom needs a major overhaul - it's very 1940s, complete with old borax-type powder-soap dispensers (we were sort of disappointed that they were empty!). The environment-friendly pump dispenser for shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel contained unidentified products and the dispenser needed a thorough cleaning (yuck). There wasn't a grounded outlet for our laptops anywhere in the whole room, and cords for grounded devices like the coffeepot and TV had their grounds cut off so that they could be plugged in! Um...

The 'garden' side of the room opens onto a 'patio' that's just an undivided strip of pavement that runs along the back side of the building (think strip motel) and it was obvious people smoke out there right by the windows and doors despite the rooms being designated non-smoking. No patio furniture, but nothing to look at either - big lawn, blackberry brambles, and a side road.

The property is sprawling, with 6 functioning guestroom buildings (I think?) and two that are clearly not in use (one of them is gutted and standing empty with most of its exterior walls removed, a testament to the property being far too large for its location and management to support). The outdoor pool is situated in a tropical or oasis-like setting and we wished we'd brought swimsuits. The pool has adult-only hours after 9 pm and is beautiful after dark.

A hotel can't really be fully responsible for its guests, but as Village Green is listed on some LGBT resource websites as a gay-friendly property or a place for gay folks to wed, I have to include in this review these facts:
- Two guests of a (straight) wedding that took place on site must have overheard or were told by front desk staff about our room troubles, and were rude to us in the parking lot.
- We heard hate speech and bigoted remarks in the bar - I don't think they were targeted at us, but I wonder if they were for our benefit.
- In the morning, our car had been marked in removable paint with a rude four-letter word. We assume this was the wedding guests again (rather than disgruntled staff), given that they probably had removable paint to use on the newlyweds' car. The caretaker who lives on-site helped us get it cleaned off; she was very solicitous and sympathetic.

With classy clientele like that and apparently no security cameras, I wouldn't consider this a safe place for women traveling alone or LGBT people.

There is no management on site during the weekends and they apparently can't be called to resolve problems. I asked that the manager contact me Monday about the room, and the clerk said she'd leave a note. A manager called me Tuesday. She was professional and sympathetic and promised action regarding the harassment and vandalism. She also requested that if we visit again we let her know so she could make it up to us. As of November 2013 the deceptive photo on the reservations website has not changed and I haven't heard anything back about doing anything to prevent or address the terrible experiences we had there, so I'm reluctant to take her up on her offer.

Overall, it feels a little like Moonstone can't afford to properly maintain and manage this property. The staff, however pleasant they might be as people, are unable to address issues directly, and Moonstone doesn't seem inclined to do anything whatsoever.

Room Tip: Don't book standard rooms. If you do book a standard room, emphasize that it MUST be one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatchLimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent two nights at Village Green last weekend through a Travel Zoo special and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent service, very fine room, very good dining at the resort.
We would go back for sure. The resort has put a lot of effort into restoring the facility and there are some very lovely gardens and local walks. They also had a special wine tasting coupons with about a dozen local wineries where we spent most of our two afternoons and picked up some fabulous wines.
The breakfast which was so-so was still adequate... quite... just not fancy. All the eggs had ham which is a no-no for us.

Our only negative is the wi-fi connection which was spotty other than in the main lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boneblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottage Grove
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Cottage Grove - Eugene South
17.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.3 mi away
Best Western Cottage Grove Inn
Best Western Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 4 in Cottage Grove
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#4 of 4 in Cottage Grove
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Resort

Address: 725 Row River Rd, Cottage Grove, OR 97424-9533
Region: United States > Oregon > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Resort and Gardens include an onsite restaurant "Seasons at The Green" and the Fireside lounge with live entertainment each night! Beautiful cozy Guestrooms that offer private garden patios and 14 acres of themed gardens to enjoy. Village Green is within walking distance of the 14 mile paved Row River Trail that takes you around Dorena Lake by bicycle, horse or running! Here at the Village Green Resort we offer Tandem Bike Rentals to see the area and bike the Row River Trail. We also offer an on site Beauty Salon. Cottage Grove is well known for it historic Covered Bridges. There is so much beauty here you will want to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Village Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Green Hotel Cottage Grove
Village Green Cottage Grove
Village Green Hotel And Gardens
Village Green Resort Cottage Grove, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing