We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, great people, great views”

Winter's Hill Vineyard
Ranked #9 of 17 things to do in Dayton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Enjoy hand-crafted wines in a stunning natural setting. Estate grown Pinot Noir, white wines, and dessert wines show the range of excellent wines. Tastings take place within the winery so you can see, smell, touch and taste how we make our wines. Sitting atop the storied Dundee Hills of Oregon, Winter's Hill is owned and operated by the Gladhart family. Today the third generation is developing the farm established in 1961. Together with our employees, we manage our vineyards, fields, and forests for the long term benefit of our family and our community. We are proud to share our estate Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Pinot Blanc (and a few other gems), and our land with our customers and visitors, and we look forward to your next visit.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great wine, great people, great views”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Winter's Hill is a lovely stop for those spending a day in the Willamette Valley. You have to work a bit for it, up a road, a turn, a turn and a gravel road to the door. I promise you, it is well worth it. The Gladhart family are always on hand to welcome you, talk to you about wine and winemaking, and to pour you a taste or several. The wines are excellent, really great pinot noirs, pinot blancs, pinot gris and a very nice rose of pinot noir. The view is incredible, a sweeping vista across vineyards and hills, and if you are lucky you might just meet up with a group touring on horseback. They have wonderful, imaginative and unusual events (my favorite has been the wine and words events they do at Valentine's - where local authors read and sign their works). It really is one of my favorite places, I can't recommend it enough - so take the time to find it, you'll be glad that you did!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NVNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grpfarmer, Owner at Winter's Hill Vineyard, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for visiting Winter's Hill. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed yourself, and we look forward to seeing you soon. We love organizing the Wine & Word event in February, glad you enjoy it as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level Contributor
435 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“pinot blanc...yumm”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

we were there on a wonderful day with our wine friends. at the top of the hill, sits this smallish tasting room. the staff was fun, and we got to buy , at a great price!!!, some of the last of a vintage of pinot blanc. we all had a great time at the end of the road...winters hill.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grpfarmer, Owner at Winter's Hill Vineyard, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Winter's Hill. Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
“Amazing Pinots and More....”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Winter's Hill is a family-run establishment that focuses on well-balanced, unique Oregon Pinot Noirs, a Pinot Blanc, a delicious dessert wine, and more! It epitomizes the Dundee Hills wine-tasting experience and is a must-stop for true wine aficionados that want something a little better than the rest.

Helpful?
Thank Brichardson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“How can you go wrong, when the journey is a slow joyous horsedrawn-buggy ride?”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The buggy ride with Donny really set the tone for the event. A leisurely stroll through the vineyards in the area, with an incredible driver who is so knowledgable about the history, the people, and the winemaking of the area. When we arrived at Winter's Hill, Emily pulled out all the stops, sharing all of her varietals as well as local tasties. (The spicy filberts rock!) My Mom bought a case of Pinot Blanc and Muscat and we couldn't be happier. The memories of that fall afternoon will last us for a long time. Thank you all so much.

Helpful?
Thank rojujencol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WInter's Hill is a new favorite”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We loved this little winery! The owner was super friendly, the grounds are beautiful, and most importantly the wines were yummy. We are white wine people, and Oregeon is typically Pinot Noir. Winter Hill's Pinot Blanc and Pinot Gris were right up our alley, crisp and fresh, perfect for the patio on a summer evening.

Helpful?
Thank Azwyldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winter's Hill Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Winter's Hill Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing