We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rose Estate

White Rose Estate
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Loved every part of our experience--amazing attention to all the details. Excellent wine, our new favorite, great tour and very kind and attentive staff. Can't wait to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
449 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Just another winery in an area of truly great wine experiences”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

At $15, the wine tasting fee is too much for two tastes of middle of the road and one very fine Pinot. The first was made from grapes sourced elsewhere. The second came from its own property. Both were okay, but not especially interesting. The third, based on grapes sourced from Anderson Family Vineyards, was excellent, but with a price of $80, grossly overpriced. The building, without windows, reminded me of a sweat lodge, dark inside on a beautiful, sunny Oregon afternoon. The redeeming factor was the friendly pour staff. Still, I doubt I'll visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All show no substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Quite possibly the best view in the Willamette Valley and a very interesting (think steampunk) tasting room. Unfortunately, that's where the good ends.
We're not really sure they even grow their own grapes but they'll sure tell you about their wine. Wine is not cheap AND they don't refund your tasting fee with the purchase of a $68 bottle of wine.
Go for the view; go somewhere else for a good tasting experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PHXTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Looks better than it tastes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Given the wine tasting fees in Oregon ($10-20) it is very disappointing to waste precious vacation time and dollars on subpar wineries. White Rose Estate charges $15 for tasting 3 wines and the wines are average at best and certainly not worthy of the price tag of $50-$60 per bottle they were offering at the winery. The best thing about the winery was the view but you have to leave the windowless attic style tasting room actually enjoy the valley below. Having touring wineries on 3 continents I think Oregon wineries charging fees are short-sighted because it make me less likely to try the variety of wineries in the area. Sadly I probably will miss some amazing wines but spending $60 dollars do tasting at less than four wineries before I even buy a bottle makes me a wary consumer instead of the wine explorer I want to be.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norad1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great Pourer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The young woman chemist who poured the wine made our visit exceptional. She should write a book! The setting, near The Wine Country Farm B & B, my new favorite place to visit, is gorgeous.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacqueburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Rose Estate also viewed

 

Been to White Rose Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing