We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed”

Stoller Family Estate
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Stoller, our roots run deep. The family established the property in 1943 and the vineyard fifty years later. Today, we are the largest contiguous vineyard in Oregon’s Dundee Hills, and our fruit is 100% estate grown. We control every step of the process, from pruning to bottling and everything in between. The result is award-winning wines that are balanced, complex, and consistently exceptional. Much has changed from the original farm, but one thing remains constant: our pioneering spirit. Our winery is the first in in the world to receive LEED Gold certification, attesting that our winery is sustainably built and environmentally friendly. We constantly seek new ways to refine and protect our legacy, so that it can thrive for generations to come. Awarded 2014 Northwest Winery of the Year by Wine Press Northwest, Oregon's Best Tasting Room by USA Today, and one of Oregon's Most Admired Companies by the Portland Business Journal.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Let me start off with The grounds here are beautiful and the views were great. The tasting is what let me down. We had scheduled a tasting a few weeks out and when we arrived and told them about our reservation we were asked to go to the tasting bar, no problem. The tasting was very impersonal we felt very rushed with each pour. We were only told what type of wine it was then the server would disappear. Each time we were ready for the next wine we had a different server approach and was unfamiliar with what we had already tasted and what we would like to try next. 3 different servers over 5 wines? Maybe the winery was just too busy that day, even though there was less than 10 people there.

Helpful?
Thank 27Hamer_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Sustainable, Sophisticated, Stoller”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

One of the best wineries that my husband and I have been to. We love the philosophies that Stoller lives by and what can I say, the wines are also very good!

Helpful?
Thank Kai111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
349 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Stellar......Stoller”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stoller had the most beautiful turkey farm in the USA......I am so glad they stopped raising turkeys and planted grapes!!! We tasted a SV Pinot Noir while having dinner in Colorado a few years back and made a point to visit. Once we visited, we were hooked. The tasting room is so comfortable and the views of the hills are spectacular. Adelle in the tasting room was a jewel...knowledgable, pleasant and a fantastic smile.
It was a treat while sampling the wine, the Winemaker, Melissa Burr stopped in and chatted for a moment. It is a pleasure to get the perspective of the maker of such magic.
The tasting room is open from 11-5, but this is a place to sit back and relax out on the deck and enjoy the great views and the fantastic tasting room staff. Stoller will be on our "to-do-list" on every trip we make to Dayton. oh......if you only buy one bottle of Pinot......make it the 2008 SV Pinot ......Velvet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank COparrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wine and a View Around the Corner”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stoller Vineyards has a wonderful view of Mt. Hood, and all you have to do to enjoy the view is walk out of the tasting room and look around the corner. I would have thought that the new, stylish tasting room would be oriented to take advantage of the impressive view of Mt. Hood. Instead, the view from the tasting room is of part of the vineyard. This is a very nice view, but it cannot compare to Mt. Hood. (The best view of the mountain is from the parking lot.)

As far as the wine is concerned, the tasting fee is $15.00. We enjoyed the wine, even though the amount of wine per tasting is not very great. This is similar to the tastings we had in nearby Domaine Drohin Winery and Sokol Blosser Winery. I admit that I am not knowledgeable about wines, however, the wines at all three wineries seemed comparable. The grounds would be very good for a picnic, but not in January when we visited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Heavenly view”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent three days touring the area vineyards and Stoller was certainly the most picturesque of all that we toured. We arrived early and there was still a little fog over the vineyard. We had a tasting in the modern facility and enjoyed the Reserve Pinot. During our tasting, they raised up the doors overlooking the vineyard and it was quite impressive. The fog began to lift and it was such a beautiful sight, we stood in awe. The doors and the architecture of the facility are very interesting and the view is spectacular - I highly recommend a stop here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stoller Family Estate also viewed

 

Been to Stoller Family Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing