We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“menu needs tweaking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barlow Room

The Barlow Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Barlow Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Dayton
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Barlow Room is a comfortable and historic restaurant and bar in the heart of Oregon's Willamette Valley wine country. The restaurant features a casual dining menu, inspired by Northwest cuisine, with a distinctive yet classic cocktail, wine and beer selection. The decor is inspired by the Oregon pioneer spirit and local history. The exposed brick walls showcase historic photos of Dayton and the local area, providing a sense of history, tradition and pride. The layout of The Barlow Room is "open concept", with comfortable lounge seating and bar open to the dining room area. The energy and atmosphere of the restaurant is relaxed yet vibrant, drawing its distinctiveness from the exposed brick walls, dark wood flooring, majestic mahogany bar and rich decor.
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“menu needs tweaking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Barlow Room is an absolutely great looking, casual restaurant and a much welcome addition to downtown Dayton which is starting to look like a very happening place these days (am glad to see it being a former resident). The servers were charming, if a bit overworked, and the place seemed to be comfortably busy for dinner service on a Saturday. The wines by the glass lean towards Oregon choices (yeah!) and the pour is generous. We started with the R&B Salad (very good and a lot of it) and the calamari. My issue was with the calamari which was bland, bland, bland although the presentation was great and it was cooked well. Calamari depends upon it's surroundings for flavor, it would have greatly benefited from some acidity, something, anything, but it was disappointingly boring. The burger was fine if a bit oversalted, nothing special, and fries were extra crispy, just how I like them. Chicken sandwich was predictable. Bill with 2 wines and a beer (agree that beer choices are terrific), 2 apps (calamari and salad) and 2 mains (chicken sandwich and burger), came to $83. I'd like to see this place really succeed and think that with food loving wine country visitors, the current menu isn't going to cut it without some work. Not sure why I thought there would be outdoor seating, that would be great if added at some point.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dumoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Barlow Room is a true Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Barlow Room is owned and operated by the same family that has the famous Palmer House Restaurant in Dayton. The culinary expertise has transferred to their more accessible venture in a wonderful way.

On our first visit, my wife had the braised chicken on the menu and I had the beef cheek with scallops. The chicken was so very good. It was flavorful, moist and really one of the best pieces of chicken I have ever tasted. The beef cheek was also very well prepared. But, both excellent items paled in comparison to the scallops. It was simply the best food item I have had in recent memory.

The service was fantastic, with a rotating wait staff style, including personal attention from the owner.

I am not a big wine person, but I do love a great craft beer. The Barlow Room has a great selection of local brews. The owner indicated that the tap list will be a rotating menu. I am very happy about that.

The atmosphere of the place is stellar. It is casual, but very nice at the same time. The walls are brick. The historic bar and the comfortable lounging area at the front of the restaurant really set a special tone for the special food. Can you tell that I really like this place?

The only potential downside for some people are the prices and portion sizes. The beers were $6 a pint and our meals were $18-$25 each. But, for the meals we had, the price was a bargain. The portion sizes are small by typical American restaurant standards, but there was more than enough food for us.

This restaurant is worthy of a trip out to Dayton. If you are on a wine country exploration, the Barlow Room will make your trip that much more special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FatherRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Saturday lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were visiting Seufert Winery, and, after a great chat with Jim, needed some lunch. This is right across the street from Dayton's lovely park and a short one-block walk from the wine tasting room. The steak bites were close to well done -- but, to be fair, I didn't ask how they were cooked nor did the server ask how I wanted them done. Having said that, the flavor was delicious. I sure would've loved more of those fried onion pieces! The R&B (roquefort and bacon) salad was excellent and large enough for two to share as a side. My husband declared the chicken sandwich "excellent", a comment he doesn't use freely. I didn't rate this excellent only because we've sampled so many restaurants and meals that our standards are pretty high -- but, this was very, very good and definitely worth a stop. The space is lovely, historic and well-done -- service was great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonNamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous new restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Barlow Room
306 Ferry St. Dayton, Oregon The phone number you entered: 503-714-4328. - Fabulous meal! Steak bites were perfect. Dahls were great. R&B salad was yummy. Pulled pork was fantastic with its polenta and tomatillo sauce. The braised beef cheek was superb. Great list of beers. Very casual. Kid friendly. Excellent discovery!!! is not valid

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barlow Room also viewed

 

Been to The Barlow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing