We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dayville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fish House Inn and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We only stayed one night at the Fishhouse Inn but wished we could have stayed longer. Beautiful grounds, very clean rooms and cozy. The town of Dayville is a sleepy little town, with very friendly locals, but lacks a restaurant and provides with minimal grocery supplies. I would stay again, but will bring my own food supplies. Great price too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyday8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

What a great, small RV park. My husband and I travel quite a bit in our motorhome. I came across the Fish House Inn on the Internet. It was listed as an Inn with 6 RV spots in the back.

I thought....this would be nice and looked forward to our one night stay. When we arrived, we drove up a gravel driveway and thought how beautiful the grounds were. It was impecable with a very well kept lawn area...There was a small office/store near the front of the property and a large barn on the left side of the driveway. There were smaller buildings scattered about. Great photos to be taken here. Lots of flowers still in bloom overflowing in old rowboats and pots.

A note, pinned to the bulletin board, told RV's just to take a spot. Well, we had 6 spots to chose from and as there were just as nice as the next one, we settled into an end spot. The sites are all quite large with a table at each campsite as well as FULL hookups. All for only $25.00. AND the cleanest, as well as huge restrooms. Laundry facilities were available, also.

As the afternoon turned into evening all but one site was taken for the night. Two of the other motorhomes said they always stayed here when they were in the area.

This was the nicest RV park we have ever been to.

We met the owner and her daughter. The daughter offered to take me on a tour of all of the rooms including the house which was the family home for years.

If you are interested in staying at a moden Inn...then drive on to Portland, etc. HOWEVER, if you want to leave your worries and troubles elsewhere...THIS is the place you should stop and visit..

I give this place 5 stars and then some.

Photos are attached.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tuna18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Talk about perception! That first review was just rude. We have stayed there 3x and will stay again in 3weeks. I say to the first review, You are in the middle of nowwhere, you done past the Hilton. Each room is unique. It is quaint. You won't find cookie cutter rooms like the motel 8 with mass produced drapes and bedspreads that you will never remember and lamps and pictures bolted down. It is like going to stay with your Grandma. Soft antique quilts, simple decor, we stayed in the room upstairs in the main house that had a queen and a twin. The air conditioner was loud but it worked fine. It was more like a home, like staying with relatives. The owners were friendly. The culture fit perfect with the town, laid back without pretense. The yards were beautifully kept. We were on the weekend, walked down the street to the cafe where we had lunch and dinner, that was FANTASTIC.
It is not fancy, it is down to earth and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca19mc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We wanted to take an overnight tour through some of Eastern Oregon, and I found the Fish House Inn on the web. The pictures looked cute enough, so we thought we'd give it a try.

The property is one of those that's struggling on that fine line between "quaint" and just plain "run down", and it appears to be sliding down toward the latter. It's right on the main street, but that's okay - Dayville is so small (160 people) that noise is not an issue. Big sprawling lot, with a main house, a two-room cabin, a separate loft building, several RV pads, a laundry, and various outbuildings. The grounds were nicely kept, well mowed, with a large gravel parking area. There are lots of benches, chairs, and tables scattered about for relaxing, and it's all very peaceful and quiet.

The rooms are all named instead of numbered - we stayed in the
"salmon". It's one of two rooms located in a detached cabin behind the main house. The room is quite old, and while there were a few nice touches, all in all it was pretty run down. The mattress on the queen bed was horrible, with a HUGE sag in the middle. Neither my wife or I got much of night's sleep. The room also housed a clock that didn't work, two old lamps, a hodgepodge of beat up chairs, a small TV with a VCR, and an ancient coffee pot, microwave, and a small refrigerator with no shelves that I don't think worked. Cooling on the 100 degree day we were there came from a loud and overworked window A/C.

When you visualize the furnishings, think "whatever we could find at the garage sale", as opposed to "eclectic mix of antiques".

All the towels, washclothes, etc. are old, mismatched hand-me-downs. There was only one bath towel, so we had to go and ask for another one. There is a clawfoot tub with a shower that was nice. No bath amenities except for wo pump bottles of liquid soap. The bath window was an old double hung that had to be propped up with the piece of branch provided for that purpose, and the window was coated with cobwebs.

We met the owner and his daughter, who were both nice enough but kind
of just going through the motions. The property is up for sale, and the owner said he's moving to Arizona as soon as it sells. Their entire attitude says "I'm tired of running a hotel and can't wait to go".

Granted, accommodations are not exactly a dime a dozen in this region, but all in all both my wife and I would recommend that our fellow travelers find another place to stay.

One more thing - as the hotel's website makes clear, this is NOT a bed and breakfast. The only place to eat in town was the cafe, which is closed Monday and Tuesday in case that's when you plan to visit. We ate breakfast there - we typcially love the homemade breakfasts you get in small cafes - but this one was marginal at best. Look for your eats in one of the other small towns in the area, like Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2005

The Fish House is a great inn. The rooms and grounds are very neat and clean. The owners are super nice. They really go the extra mile to make sure you have a nice stay. They also have a small RV park on the grounds with the cleanest bathroom/showers I have ever seen at a RV park. There is even a resident dog who comes around and visits with everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hensandchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bend, OR
17
Reviewed 20 April 2004

The Fish House INN in Dayville Oregon is a beautiful place to stay. The accomodations were excellent and the breakfast was superb. It is a great place to stay if you plan on visting the John Day Fossil Beds. I recommend this place to any one traveling through.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La stanza che da sul prato
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fish House Inn and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish House Inn and RV Park

Address: 110 E Franklin Ave, Dayville, OR 97825-5000
Region: United States > Oregon > Dayville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dayville
Price Range: £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just nine miles from the Sheep Rock Unit of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument and the Thomas Condon Paleontology Center, the Fish House Inn offers unique guest rooms, and an immaculate RV park and tent camping. An oasis in the rocky juniper canyons of the John Day Valley, the well manicured grounds of the Fish House Inn are an inviting sight. Within walking distance from the inn, is the John Day River, a park with children's play ground and country stores such as the Dayville Cafe, Mercantile, South Fork Mini Mart and The Twisted Treasures (Which sells local Art, Ice Cream, Sandwiches and growler fill station! Interesting surrounding terrain attracts hunters, fisherman, hikers, bikers and rock hounds. Visitors to the John Day Valley enjoy river floats on the John Day river, exploring the many trails of the fossil beds, touring down the scenic road along the South Fork of the John Day River. Comfortable outside sitting areas, barbecue grills, horseshoe pits and star filled skies entice visitors to relax and enjoy the ranching community of Dayville. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing