We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whale Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whale Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Fantastic third floor room(elevator accessible) with a view of Whale Cove and the ocean. The room was like having one's own upscale mini condo with all the amenities and none of the responsibilities. Beautifully appointed. Restaurant Beck, in the Inn, was outstanding. Well prepared, beautifully plated food that was innovative, had multiple flavors, yet was not fussy. Perfect and relaxing. The whole experience made our special celebration that much more special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    22
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
278
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is our second visit and it was pure magic. Our suite was like being in Heaven. The most magnificent view we have encountered from any hotel we have stayed at. We are world travelers and that says a lot. The managers Sarah and Carole could not do enough for us. They are charming, helpful and most informed about the surrounding area giving us good tips where to go.
Very disappointing was the service at breakfast and not a good breakfast at all! The Beck Restaurant which is in the Inn was not good either. The food is very expensive..... menu very limited and the portions are small. We had to go to restaurants in the neighborhood eventually which seemed such a pity! Nevertheless, we will return as it is a most gorgeous spot on our beautiful planet ! We hope next time, the breakfast will have improved and Restaurant Beck will have to improve.......This is constructive criticism. Thanks again, Sarah and Carole.

Room Tip: Every room is fabulous! All rooms and suites face the ocean. There is no fitness center or swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 061837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a fabulous small luxury inn, beautiful spacious room and appointments, and a wonderful double-sink bathroom. Couldn't ask for more. View from room and deck, and lovely hot tub, all amazing. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in after 30 years of travelling to 30 US states and 20 European cities
The rooms are perfect , the staff helpful and Restaurant Beck a wonderful place to eat
The view over the Pacific Ocean is without compare

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delahunty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

More like an apartment and the best view on the coast. Restaurant is a little over the top. Temperpedic beds which we really liked and may have to buy one. Definitely the nicest place on the coast and we will come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardnerwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and agreed that it is one of the best places we have ever stayed in. A huge room (virtually a bedroom plus lounge) so plenty of space to chill out. Other reviewers have mentioned the lack of air conditioning and having to leave the patio doors open, but we would have done this anyway so that we could drift off to sleep to the sound of the waves. And what a view to greet you in the morning! A superb location.
The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and well serviced.
We dined each evening in the Beck Restaurant and twice chose the taster menu which was excellent, with some unusual combinations to enjoy. The staff were wonderful, explaining how each dish had been prepared.
Overall, a wonderful stay and will be our first choice if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our room was awesome and we loved everything about it. The fireplace was great as it's cold in the evenings during the summer! The views are stunning and we like the smaller Inn's. My only complaint would be the breakfast. The guy in charge of the breakfast didn't seem concerned that there was not enough food both mornings we were there. He had a small bowl of berries and the quiche didn't stay warm if you didn't show up right at 8:00. They know the hotel was going to be full and should plan accordingly! But, we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLaBelle1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
10.1 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
14.1 mi away
Beachfront Manor Hotel
Beachfront Manor Hotel
#18 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Inn

Property: Whale Cove Inn
Address: 2345 US-101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile south of Depoe Bay Oregon on the winding, magical Coast Highway, a new refuge of romance on the rugged Oregon Coast has been born: The Whale Cove Inn, one of North America and Central Oregon Coast's most memorable and exclusive luxury boutique inns. Perched high above the serene expanse of Whale Cove, a pristine marine refuge, the Whale Cove Inn cocoons its guests in luxury - from king-sized Tempur-Pedic beds to outdoor Jacuzzis on private decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Whale Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing