We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Whale Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in April. Everything about this property exceeded our expectations. The rooms are graciously appointed and the hot tub on the deck with a bay view was the perfect end to a great day spent enjoying some of the fabulous trails in the Oregon coast area. The restaurant while on the property is not part of the hotel, however, the food and service is outstanding. I will definitely be returning to this Inn while visiting the area again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hermitchness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    24
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
288
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was a phenomenal place to stay! My husband and I were blown away by the views. Nothing on the website or in any pictures can show how spectacular the vistas are. It was amazing to sit in the outdoor jacuzzi and watch the seals and look for whales. The whole staff was friendly and unobtrusive. We are usually very picky and would recommend this hotel very strongly. It has beautiful spacious rooms that do not even compete with the view outside. All in all, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I love spas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Whale Cove Inn has to be one of the very best properties we have ever stayed in! Our suite (all of the rooms are suites) was extraordinarily comfortable and had a magnificent view. The service was perfect, as was the excellent buffet breakfast. The onsite Restaurant Beck is a real plus. A wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, OR
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

There are some nice furnishings and features to the rooms, but also some short-comings. For example, the 'wine cooler' in our room did not work, so they moved us to another room (a little smaller) and compensated us with a bottle of wine. That was all fine, but why do they use wine coolers in the rooms instead of a little refrigerator (like most hotels do)? Wine coolers are notorious for breaking down within a year, and don't keep things nearly as cool as the little refrigerators. Guests like to keep things other than just wine chilled (like medication or doggy bags from restaurants that one wants to have for lunch the next day). And also a little microwave in the room is pretty much standard now, but none are to be found in any of the rooms here. I will say the bed was very comfortable. We didn't use the 'hot tub' on the balcony, so won't comment. The showers, however, are 'extravagant' with rain shower heads above and body sprays on the side. Personally, though, I don't care for the rain shower heads, as I don't always wash my hair everyday. So I have to use a shower cap instead of my usual towel wrapped around my head to keep my hair dry. My spouse and I both found the body sprays too fine to provide pulsing massage, and instead felt more like little needles, so we didn't use them. Also noted that the outdoor gas fire pits no longer work. Had to flush toilets twice before they emptied. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. All in all, it feels like the place needs to be better kept up to justify their price tag of several hundred dollars a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent a wonderful 3 nights here April 2-5/2014 it exceeded our expectations. If you are looking for somewhere to relax and recharge your batteries this is it. The suites are specious and very tastefully decorated. The staff treated us like family and did their best at making us feel at home.
We plan on returning and spending a bit more time here next time. The jetted tub out on our patio was the icing on the cake for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our stay was the most wonderful experience! We relaxed immediately once in our room, it was amazing. The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff was so attentive! We can hardly wait until we can go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

From the moment you walk thru the front door......peace, beauty and tranquility. We were so delighted with the Whale Cove Inn. The hotel staff were above and beyond, the room was beautifully appointed and the view was spectacular! So looking forward to staying here again. Absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
10.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
347 reviews
10.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
273 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Inn

Property: Whale Cove Inn
Address: 2345 US-101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile south of Depoe Bay Oregon on the winding, magical Coast Highway, a new refuge of romance on the rugged Oregon Coast has been born: The Whale Cove Inn, one of North America and Central Oregon Coast's most memorable and exclusive luxury boutique inns. Perched high above the serene expanse of Whale Cove, a pristine marine refuge, the Whale Cove Inn cocoons its guests in luxury - from king-sized Tempur-Pedic beds to outdoor Jacuzzis on private decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whale Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing