We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but is run down.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Winds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Winds Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK, but is run down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

So. You get what you pay for, right? Realistically this place is just fine. It is inexpensive, the staff was friendly. It was quiet. Nothing terrible at all. However it is *quite* in need of work. Almost every metal surface is corroded. Everything is worn out and beat up. But it was clean, and everything worked OK. The water was hot, the fridge worked fine. Basically - I am not saying stay away - I am just saying if you come in with reasonable expectations it will be fine. If you want nicer - go pay more somewhere else, because this place isn't for you.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Valkraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

The pictures.....no tissue, missing light fixture and dirty mirror.......I think we stayed in the same exact room! What a dump.....our kids were even grossed out. There was also lots of hair everywhere in the bathroom. We also killed two spiders. Just overall nasty!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Depoe Bay hotels

Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Annual Seafest attenders. We stupidly made no reservations 1 year & drove up coast, discovering this motel. Not a hotel or Suite. Cheap, cute, SAFE. See ocean from the room. Not for multi nights as the beds are not the most comfortable but for get away to see the coast, the beach-not the inside of a room, it's perfect. There is a restaurant across the hwy & you can walk to Depot Bay. We've looked at other coastal motels & left, never to return. Four Winds is our go to. Owner doesn't speak English very clearly (that has been difficult) but who cares.

Room Tip: Highway side rooms have excellent ocean view & sound of crashing waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sav86Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brier
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just looking for a decent room to go on a whale tour the next day, I wanted to use a discount coupon I picked up from the Chamber of Commerce. They added $10.00 dollars to the price stated on the coupon. I couldn't get an understandable explination because the clerk just barely spoke english and just kept shrugging his shoulders. I would have left but the charge was already on my card and it was very late I knew a credit would have been difficult at the very least.

I had to shake and twist and play with the key to get it to work and when I iopened the door I thaught I had booked the room from hell. Smelly, unkept, furniture built for midgets, blankets with cigarette burns, a 13" tv and a closet sized bathroom with no water pressure and fixtures oxidized like they had never been cleaned.
It was mid-night, to late to leave so I tossed and turned on the horrible bed , on top of the spread using my own pillow for nearly four hours, sure the bed was full of bugs.

In the end Ileft and parked my car near the Whale Museum and slept in my car until morning.
It took me two days to feel clean again.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hovisfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our goal for going to Depoe Bay was whale-watching. Being from Portland, we decided to drive down the day before and spend the night so we'd have plenty time to get there and sight-see (though there's really not much to see in Depoe Bay). We decided on the Four Winds because it was close to town and looked inexpensive. And inexpensive it was - $55 for 2, one queen bed. The no smoking room looked and smelled clean. It was actually a small suite, with a separate room for the comfortable bed, two TVs (limited number of channels), micro, mini-frig and coffee maker with coffee. It was quiet and peaceful at night. The only downsides were an electrical outlet didn't work and the wi-fi was practically useless, only staying connected for a few minutes then we were unable to log-on.

Room Tip: We were in room #10, a ways from the office and with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taragem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stupidly made reservations online for 4 nights. Hard as rock bed, shower was a sprinkle (more water came out the tub spout than the shower head when shower turned on), staff did not speak English and hard to tell them the bath was plugged up. When they unplugged the bath they did not clean out the mess it had made. When I arrived the mirror had something spilled on it and the table had table rings that they never cleaned off and both stayed this way the entire 5 day stay. Empty kleenex box on wall that they never replaced and did not bother to throw out the used box. They actually hand wrote the name of the Motel on the BEDSPREAD! As if someone would steal that. No clock, no paper, nothing to carry ice in (they had an ice machine), light was missing in the DIRTY vanity light, coffee maker was one of the first made hot water heater style and they gave you 2 very small freeze dried coffee. Didn't matter I would not have drank coffee out of that old thing for fear of mold. Toilet paper ran out and they did not replace it. They put my used towel back on the rack for me to use again. STILL WET!!! I have stayed at a lot of Hotels/Motels in my life but this was the very WORST experience I ever had! You would be very wise to NOT stay here and stay at one down the road.

Room Tip: There are several Motels close by that charge just a little more. They all have good views and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Luv2travel1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We checked in and it went downhill from there..Shower not cleaned with hair and debris still in it..Worst of all the bedding was not changed from the last guests that stayed their.Stains on the comforter.Hairs in the sheets YUK! light fixtures in lamp fell out. The refrigerator temperature was warm...Sorry but never again..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
8.0 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds Motel

Property: Four Winds Motel
Address: 356 Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Four Winds Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Four Winds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing