We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get some culture, coffee culture...and fresh roasted beans.”
Review of Pirate Coffee

Pirate Coffee
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are family owned business producing high quality products. We offer fresh roasted coffees from ports around the world (we do our own roasting). We provide retail and wholesale offerings. Our locations carry fresh brewed coffee and espresso delights. We carry fine chocolates made freshly by our Chocolatiers. We have fresh baked products available too, our bakers are always busy. Please drop in for a visit and a cup of coffee that's been voted "Best of the Best"
northern california
Level Contributor
164 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Get some culture, coffee culture...and fresh roasted beans.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Varieties of beans from many of the worlds growing regions, roasted on site in small batches. If your a coffee snob like me, and appreciate artisan roasting, then you will like the beans, coffee, and expertise of the owner roaster. As one who buys green beans and roasts my own most days, I enjoyed watching and talking with the owner as she roasted beans in one of two beautiful roasters in the back of the shop. It was great to talk coffee and coffee culture with a passionate coffee roaster, and also get a good expresso and some fresh beans for the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecanoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
249 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent locally roasted coffee”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The coffee is roasted on site and has a number of varieties to choose from. I always stop here for fresh coffee beans (which i have them grind) on my way to a time share close by. They also have an excellent choice of pastries and a few other items.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank costaricatravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a GREAT place! Wish we had one at home!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

On our way out of Depoe Bay my husband and I stopped here to get coffee gifts for our family back home. So glad we did! The lady beind the counter helped us pick out the perfect types of coffee beans for our family according to their coffee preferences. We purchased several pounds of coffee for both family and ourselves. The coffee is long gone now, and everyone in our family raved about the coffee. We loved the fun pirate-themed names!
Wonderfully delicious coffee--wish we had one closer to home in the midwest!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Un-Starbucks”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Homey coffee shop with friendily staff. We always stop when in the area to enjoy their good coffee and to buy a bag or two of coffee to take with. Good pastries.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coffee and Conversation Can't Be Beat”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent a stormy afternoon at Pirate Coffee near Pirate Bay, sipping a yummy latte and chatting with the owner while the wind buffeted outside. Later we returned and purchased two more lattes along with two pounds of their coffee, roasted on site, and a couple of enormous cookies for the trip back home. We just brewed our first pot this morning and it is perfect. Great flavor and aroma, no hint of bitterness or over-roasting. A definite "have to" stop along the Oregon Coast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate Coffee also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Pirate Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing