We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old standby still delivers”
Review of Gracie's Sea Hag

Gracie's Sea Hag
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Old standby still delivers”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have always enjoyed the Sea Hag whenever we came to Depoe Bay, and this visit was no exception. The chowder is delicious, fried scallops are light and crispy on the outside without being overdone on the inside, and the fries are fresh-tasting and pipin hot. The welldrunk was good and strong, and my dayghter's hot chocolate tasted like it was made from scratch. Our server came back to check on us several times, and service was fast. Prices are in line with anything else on the Oregon Coast and even a couple of bucks cheaper per dish than nearby chowder places. It's cozy inside, which is a plus on a blustery day. We'll always come back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    375
    153
    53
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great chowder and chips”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Have eaten here about 6 or 7 times and have always ordered a bowl of chowder and the cod fish & chips because they're so good. It's a little pricey but it's not out of line with any other place along the coast. I can't speak for anything else on the menu as my girlfriend always orders the halibut fish and chips which she loves. I did go look at the salad bar once thinking I might order something else but didn't look like anything special so went with the old stand-by; great chowder (one of the best on the coast), great fish & chips.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fj49_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“greasy and over priced”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The food here was not great... and very expensive for what you get. The server was nice but I think he could tell we weren't happy with the food but didn't say anything or offer anything else. I had a friend who was with us who needs gluten free and they didn't have many options for that either. The server said even their fries had gluten in them...which is weird.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyginger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Getting Worn Around The Edges”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place used to be "the place to eat" on the central Oregon coast when Gracie ran the place. Great food, great fun, especially when Gracie would play her bottles, and great service! That's pretty much gone now. The food is OK but nothing special. The salad bar is a joke.The servers aren't enthusiastic and attentive like in days gone by when Gracie was looking over their shoulders. Yea, someone still plays the bottles but not like Gracie. The decor is the same as it was years ago but looking a little worse for the ware. It appears to me that in an attempt to survive they are now open for breakfast. Top all this off with everything being overpriced, I think I'll be eating elsewhere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cusinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Cloud MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value, lots of food!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The appetizer platter comes with enough food for 2 people for dinner, and also some leftovers! great value and friendly server. nice atmosphere as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gracie's Sea Hag also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Gracie's Sea Hag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing