We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Whale Research EcoExcursions
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Depoe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Black Forest, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

There was questionable weather on the day our trip was scheduled. Carrie was fantastic working with us and our schedule to ensure we had a trip out. The wait was well worth it, as we saw three very active whales on our trip. Carries staff was all warm and welcoming, her museum was great, and she is very enthusiastic about her job. This was the highlight of our vacation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GGmaretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    15
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Trip Experience!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked an 1 1/2 hour trip and even though it was a cold and foggy day it was an awesome trip! We saw 2 whales and had a very enjoyable trip out. The waves were pretty big but we had no problems and our captain, Joe, did a great job keeping us informed of where to look and pointing our birds and interesting land points and information as we traveled. I highly recommend a whale watching excursion with Marine Discovery Tours!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“We saw whales!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

On a previous visit to Newport, we did the Marine Discovery Tour, and while it was enjoyable, we didn't see any whales. However, on this trip, with captain Kevin (Carrie was captaining another boat just ahead of us but she was in constant radio contact with Kevin) we saw about 6-7 whales! We even got fluked! Kevin also took us to a seal rookery where we saw more seals than we could count, and a waterfall. We booked the 1 1/2 hour trip, but we wish we would have booked the 2 hour trip. We all agreed that the next time we're near Depoe Bay, we will do this trip again - it was that special and Carrie and Kevin are so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First of all, we've been out in Depoe Bay twice and have yet to see a whale from the zodiac, but it's like fishing...sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.
But with Carrie(the research scientist), you really don't lose if you miss seeing a whale. She's a kick, loves what she does and has a ton of enthusiasm and info to share.
The whales are there, you just need a bit of luck to see them. It's a great ride, next to the water as opposed to a large "cattle car" boat and I love the Pacific Ocean.
Oh, did I mention Keta the whale watching/sniffing dog???.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it so much we went twice!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Anyone looking for a whale watching trip on the Oregon Coast should look no further than Whale Research EcoExcursions. We went out on a Saturday and had great weather, sun was shining and was a pleasant temperature. On this trip we had Kevin. He is a very capable captain and brings a sense of humor to the trip. He is also quite knowledgeable about the whales etc.
You go out on a 6-passenger zodiac boat and really do zip around pretty quick.
The second time we went out our originally scheduled time for Thursday morning was cancelled, unfortunately. We were flexible and able to re-schedule for Friday morning. Do keep this in mind due to weather there are cancellations. They don't want to cancel your trip but sometimes it's just too windy or inclement to safely make the trip.
Anyway, our 2nd trip was with Carrie, (the owner), of Whale Research EcoExcursions. She always brings her dog, Kita. Both of them are purely amazing. Not only is Carrie a Marine Biologist who exhibits such passion about her work but Kita, her dog, is equally excited about finding whales. She will bark when she sees or senses a whale, it really is spectacular to witness. Needless to say, if you are researching a whale watching trip on the Oregon Coast, look no further. They know what they are doing, this is the best experience I have had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mama2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Research EcoExcursions also viewed

Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Whale Research EcoExcursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing