We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B I've been to.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B I've been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Everything about the Channel House was perfect. Especially the attentive and helpful staff that were available when needed and very friendly. Definitely high on the list for next years vacation!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtomicAl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    69
    21
    12
    2
See reviews for
9
311
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent our Honeymoon here 14 yrs ago. with Wonderful memories. I am glad to see it is still here and still high quality.

The view is spectacular, right on the edge of the coast. You can see the sailors aboard the Coast Guard Boat as they set out to sea. The waves splash up the rocks giving you the feel of being on the ocean, but being warm & safe on land. (I get sea sick so this works for me!)

Everything about the Inn is thought out; made comfortable for guests and very inviting. The continental breakfast is great.

The Room we had was super. We had a living room area with fireplace with a view to the ocean, and the bedroom had the best view as well. It also opened up to a balcony with its own private hot tub.

We were there in December but enjoyed the tub, watching the sea and breeze while in very comfortable warm water.

The town is very quaint and intesting. We had great seafood while there and fun shopping in quaint shops, even a lighthouse shop.

It was a very special event for us, and we were treated special. Definitely a Romantic Getaway.

Room Tip: I think they are all good, but did not look at them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My new husband and I stayed in The Captain's Quarter's for two nights, and loved the Channel House Inn. We are already talking about coming back for future celebrations. The jacuzzi and breakfast were both especially nice, and the man at the front desk gave some great recommendations for lunch/dinner. We ended up having lunch at the Chowder Bowl, and dinner at Gracie's Sea Hag. Both were easily walked to from the Inn.

Room Tip: Room #2 was at the top of the building, the Jacuzzi and deck were private. Only by standing near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherlin, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Best place on Oregon coast to Honeymoon. Our Wedding was January 15, 2012 . Even with snow and ice it was very quite and so nice. We will be back again. Thank you Channel House.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very quiet and the view is one of the best at Oregon Coast. Nice to be able to walk into town and shop or eat. Depoe Bay is located between Lincoln City and Newport so the is much to see and do. Cannel House sits right next to bay enterance fun to watch boats come and go. I reccomend this place for a quiet get away to relax and unwind. Great spot to watch wales!

Room Tip: Chuchoos nest is on top floor with kitchen and seperate bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Because of the fantastic reviews of the Channel House, my wife & I decided to stay there for our anniversary. This place stylizes itself as a Luxury B&B, yet these are its three biggest failings. The Bed is hard & the 'Continental Breakfast' was no better than what one would expect to find at any Comfort Inn. As to luxury, when this place was built 30 years ago I am certain it was the most luxurious place in the area; however, it doesn't look like they've put a dime into it since. The furnishings are stained & some had cigarette burns. The sheet was so threadbare that they even put a patch over one spot. It does have a phenomenal view, but you take that out of the equation and it is no better than any average motel. Save yourself the disappointment and just drive on by. Less than 10 minutes down the road is Otter Crest, which truly is luxurious and the 'A' building has a fantastic view of the 'Bowl.' My wife is still trying to recover from the backache the bed caused. I'm 6'7" and the construction of the shower is such that I couldn't stand up straight in it. The seating isn't much better and, in fact, each morning I took my laptop out to my car and found it far more comfortable sitting there than in the room and the car we took is 10 years older than this B&B. Granted, the car was a Citroen DS; but none the less, a luxury suite should be more comforable than one's car. The jacuzzi on the balcony, which some others touted as so great, was such a disappointment. First, being my height it was impossible for me to even fit in it. Second, we could look over our balcony and see all of the jacuzzi's below us-not much privacy there! Third, due to the open lattice work on the north side of the jacuzzi, it is impossible to get into it without people from the highway or dowtown buildings seeing you. Lastly, because of the position of the jacuzzi upon the deck, it is impossible to set two chairs side by side in order to enjoy the fantastic view. For our sunset champagne toast, we were forced to make that sitting side by side on the bed. The staff is friendly and nice and the room was exceptionally clean. I would far prefer a real fireplace to the enclosed gas one, which was more reminiscent of staring at a Yule log on a TV than to the romantic warmth of a wood fire. The cost of the room was average, or a little less, for a luxury suite. Unfortunately, it isn't luxurious and about five times high for a common everyday clean motel. Every B&B which where have stayed has been far more luxurious and significantly less expensive, so for what it claims to be it is far over priced. Every B&B where we have stayed has put on a fantastic hand cooked breakfast not some Eggo waffles, fruit juice from a can, Tillamook Yogurt and cereal in a tub as their choices. If the Channel House wants to drop its prices 60% instead of $250 a night off season, then I would recommend it to a friend solely for the view of the Ocean, the Harbor and the town. That is the only reason that I could recommend this place to anyone and then I would suggest that they find a more comfortable place to stay after they have enjoyed the view!

Room Tip: If you insist upon staying here, Room 3 is the best overall view. It is high enough to be able to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 85CXPrestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We went to Chanel House 10 years ago on our honeymoon. During our honeymoon trip we stayed at several other nice hotels and B & Bs on the Oregon coast. Chanel House is, by far, our favorite & we come back to celebrate our anniversary every year. We just returned from our 9th anniversary celebration - fully rested and oh, so in love!
Chanel House always delivers romance and relaxation. From the moment we walk through the doors the cares of the world start to melt away. The staff are friendly, sincere and welcoming. The smiles they share are genuine and they go out of their way to assure that guests are comfortable and pampered.
Each room is unique and has its own appeal, having been carefully prepared to inspire guests to relax and enjoy quiet time with a loved one. Chanel House is always clean, quiet, restful and inviting.
There is no such thing as bad weather at the Chanel House! As a guest you can enjoy stormy days with the thundering, crashing waves blissfully from within the cozy interior or from the steamy warmth of your private jaccuzi. Sunny, calm days are equally enjoyable. Watching sea lions, harbor seals, birds and whales from the hot tub is one of our favorite Chanel House activities.
And, no review of the Chanel House would be complete without mentioning breakfast. Fresh, delicious, homemade pastries (still warm from the oven) are served everyday, along with fresh and canned fruit, yogurt and cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, a variety of dry cereals, crescent rolls, bread & waffles for toasting... did I mention the amazing pastries? Breakfast is always one of the highlights of our day. We love to sit at one of the window tables, just a few feet from the rocks & waves, and watch God's amazing creation while we savor our tea/coffee, delicious breakfast offerings, and quiet time together.
We HIGHLY recommend the Chanel House to all of our married friends when they are looking for a romantic get-away, and we highly recommend Chanel House to all of you who are reading this review.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms over the years, all of them have been clean, comfortable, cozy and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
8.5 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Property: Channel House
Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing