We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lil' Inn at the Oregon Coast”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lil' Inn at the Oregon Coast”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The staff was so friendly & absolutely wonderful. Location BEAUTIFUL! What's not to love - comfty bed, fireplace, hot tub & spectacular view!! ...Can't forget the breakfast - YUMM!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonGirl4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    69
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
10
319
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here three other times. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. The rooms that we have occupied are on the lowest floor and suitable for a couple, but not expansive. The electronics in the rooms have been kept up-to-date - wifi, hd tv and dvd player, and ample outlets for chargers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the first second to the last second, we were absolutely impressed and satisfied. Everything is top notch.

The employees aim to please and are very helpful.

The room was immaculate and well furnished. The view was breathtaking. We stayed in the "Channel Watch" suite, I was really glad we chose this suite. It was beautiful inside and out. It had privacy. You were on a few feet away from the ocean. I love the ocean sounds and being able to open the balcony doors to listen to them was a big plus. The hot tub on the balcony was a great touch after a long day of exploring. We even enjoyed it one afternoon with the sun shinning, boats coming and going and of course champagne.

They are within walking distance of all things in the quaint little town of Depoe Bay. They are also really close to other cities/towns that offer good dining, shopping and exploring.

The breakfast was very good, well prepared and good choices. It is a "cold" breakfast, but the choices were very good and tasty, so we didn't mind that there were no "hot" choices.

We would gladly and most surely stay here again, if we can ever make it back to the area. The area is beautiful!!! I'm so glad I bought some of their room spray, because the smell at home now reminds me our wonderful time at The Channel House.

Thank you so much for helping to make our short time in Oregon a truly wonderful and amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinkldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was glad choose Channel House for my hubby's birthday, and he also suprise the ocean view in front of our room.
We both argee it's a wonderful experience, although its price a little high.
But everything is worth in here, we look the ocean , listen the sound of wave, enjoy our hot tub and wine....does anything else can compare?

Room Tip: I won't tell :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita823SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in #12....Suite Salt Air....Got there Friday at 4:00 p.m. (Check in time) and was greeted by the staff and checked in promptly and showed our room and all its features....Privacy to the max...hot tub on the porch/deck overlooking the Bay and the Channel and what a great view it was....pounding surf, salt sprays....Wow!!. Wonderful bed, slept soundly and couldn't hear anyone else....got up at our leisure, had the hearty continental breakfast and met another couple staying there.....had a delightful conversation.....Great shops and restaurants within walking distance....we went to the Sea Hag for dinner on Friday night, Tidal Raves on Saturday night....Hit the hot tub.....really nice to be outside and listening to the surf!! On Sunday morning at breakfast, met a manager (Sarah) and had a great conversation with her and then again at checkout....Can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: We only stayed in Suite Salt Air....#12...King sized bed with sliding doors and a fireplace.....it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Staying at Channel House was a fantastic experience. It's an amazing location--both for the view and for the stuff that's within walking distance. It was so nice and quiet. No one ever bothered us, but the staff were always there and happy to help when we needed something. Yes, it's a little spendy, but if you want the best the Oregon coast has to offer you have to be willing to splurge a tiny bit.

Room Tip: Room #5 has the very best view and the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Channel House for years. It was one of our favorite go-to places for special occasions. We hadn't visited in a number of years but recently went back. We were expecting the same. It wasn't. First the good: the view is still fabulous and the tempurpedic bed was terrific. The bad: the place had an air of deferred maintenance. Water leak stains, rust, and rotted wood. The room was okay clean, but not great. The grout in the bathroom was scary. I want my hotel room CLEAN. When there is junk along the baseboard carpet crease, that's a clear clue that I should keep my shoes on for the disgusting stuff I can't see. The cobwebs didn't improve things. The continental breakfast was disappointing, and I remember it being fabulous once upon a time. This is not a cheap place to stay. I would not recommend it and will not ever return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
347 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
11.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
823 reviews
8.5 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Property: Channel House
Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing