We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and breakfast, both with a view!”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in The Bridge suite. It was a lovely and comfortable room. We had dinner at local restaurant and returned to enjoy a glass of wine and the view of the pacific from the jacuzzi, unfortunately no whales. Breakfast included a wide assortment of pastries, fruit, breads, juices, and a wonderful bread pudding with apples. Enjoyed coffee and the view in the quaint dining room. Quiet and comfortable stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WaynemegSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

The initial view of the inn on arrival isn't that great - but once you are in your room the view of the ocean, the waves crashing on the rocks below and the look of the outside of the inn is forgotten. The room was cleverly laid out making the most of the ocean view and had all the comforts: fire, TV, DVD player etc. Sitting outside and watching the boats come and go to the little harbour was fun and the sunsets memorable. Having your own hot tub was great - although the evening that we used it we couldn't turn it off! The staff were very helpful and did send a maintenance man round to turn it off - thank you.
The breakfasts were wonderful, so much choice - again tables overlooking the ocean. Great to be able to make an early morning cup of tea.
Staff very helpful with suggestions for day trips.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a wonderful property. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful, the views spectacular and the location great. We were in the Cuckoo's Nest and had a fabulous view of the ocean looking west and the opening to the harbor looking north. It was great fun watching all of the boats bobbing in and out of the harbor -- whale watchers, fishing boats and the Coast Guard. The breakfast was excellent with a large and tasty selection of breakfast foods. I thought that it was going to be in a dark basement and was pleasantly surprised when one end had windows to the sea. We will definitely return. It is a spendy property, but worth it for a special occasion. I peeked in other rooms and while they didn't have the views we had, the rooms were beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annpriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The staff was so friendly & absolutely wonderful. Location BEAUTIFUL! What's not to love - comfty bed, fireplace, hot tub & spectacular view!! ...Can't forget the breakfast - YUMM!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonGirl4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here three other times. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. The rooms that we have occupied are on the lowest floor and suitable for a couple, but not expansive. The electronics in the rooms have been kept up-to-date - wifi, hd tv and dvd player, and ample outlets for chargers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the first second to the last second, we were absolutely impressed and satisfied. Everything is top notch.

The employees aim to please and are very helpful.

The room was immaculate and well furnished. The view was breathtaking. We stayed in the "Channel Watch" suite, I was really glad we chose this suite. It was beautiful inside and out. It had privacy. You were on a few feet away from the ocean. I love the ocean sounds and being able to open the balcony doors to listen to them was a big plus. The hot tub on the balcony was a great touch after a long day of exploring. We even enjoyed it one afternoon with the sun shinning, boats coming and going and of course champagne.

They are within walking distance of all things in the quaint little town of Depoe Bay. They are also really close to other cities/towns that offer good dining, shopping and exploring.

The breakfast was very good, well prepared and good choices. It is a "cold" breakfast, but the choices were very good and tasty, so we didn't mind that there were no "hot" choices.

We would gladly and most surely stay here again, if we can ever make it back to the area. The area is beautiful!!! I'm so glad I bought some of their room spray, because the smell at home now reminds me our wonderful time at The Channel House.

Thank you so much for helping to make our short time in Oregon a truly wonderful and amazing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrinkldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was glad choose Channel House for my hubby's birthday, and he also suprise the ocean view in front of our room.
We both argee it's a wonderful experience, although its price a little high.
But everything is worth in here, we look the ocean , listen the sound of wave, enjoy our hot tub and wine....does anything else can compare?

Room Tip: I won't tell :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita823SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
368 reviews
12.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
880 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range: £145 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing